Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: problem still with quest and location rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Teong Teh
Malaysia
flag msg tools
hi
Having problem with quest and location again.

Escort from edoras has a forced : after resolving a quest escort from
Edoras comitted move from play.

Now if there i an active location, is it counted as resoved the quest
If i placed enough travel tokens?


Also when i place a location as active location is it considered
As "After you travel to a location" ?

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
teha123 wrote:
Escort from edoras has a forced : after resolving a quest escort from
Edoras comitted move from play.

Now if there i an active location, is it counted as resoved the quest
If i placed enough travel tokens?

"After resolving a quest" happens at the end of the quest phase. This happens every round, regardless of whether you quest successfully or not. In other words, you can only use the Escort to quest once and then it is discarded.

teha123 wrote:
Also when i place a location as active location is it considered
As "After you travel to a location" ?

No, traveling to a location is only when you take a location from the staging area and make it the active location during the travel phase.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Duke
United Kingdom
Fleet
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Resolving the quest" is the step where you compare your committed willpower against the threat in the staging area, regardless of the result or whether there is an active location. So you get to use Escort from Edoras to quest once and once only.

"Travelling" to a location is the process of taking it out of the staging area and making it the active location. So whenever you make a new location active that way, you would trigger "after you travel to a location".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teong Teh
Malaysia
flag msg tools
Thank you very much
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teong Teh
Malaysia
flag msg tools
Sorry what about lorien guide?
Response : after commit to a quest place one progress token
On active location

If i have no active location is my quest considered
As active location?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly B
Finland
Vantaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
teha123 wrote:
Sorry what about lorien guide?
Response : after commit to a quest place one progress token
On active location

If i have no active location is my quest considered
As active location?


No, it isn't.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chadgar24
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
agreed, The active location is just that...the active location. If there is none there her effect is not usable.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
secoAce -
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
teha123 wrote:
hi
Having problem with quest and location again.

Escort from edoras has a forced : after resolving a quest escort from
Edoras comitted move from play.

Now if there i an active location, is it counted as resoved the quest
If i placed enough travel tokens?

Also when i place a location as active location is it considered
As "After you travel to a location" ?

Thanks

Yup, I had some confusion with the definition of "travel to a location" at first too.

There's the "Staging Area" which I can't believe wasn't given a more flavorable description, so I call it the "Distant Horizon". This Staging Area/Distant Horizon is where you see enemies and locations that you can approaching. You're not engage with them yet, but the anticipation of having to deal with them creates an ever increasing sense of Threat.

The Locations in the Staging Area/Distant Horizon are locations that you have to get through on your journey to complete your quest. You can actively be in and travel to only one location at at time, but you can decide which direction you want to go to. When you decide which location you want to travel to, you move that Location card from the Staging Area next to the Quest cards to indicate that is now the "Active Location" where you are at now located.

You have to travel through this active location before you can make progress on your quest, which means that any progress tokens you earn have to go to the Active Location and complete it before any remaining progress tokens can be placed on your Quest.

Once you've put the number of progress tokens required for the Active Location, that Active Location is now considered "explored", at which point you can resolve any "explored" actions for that location and then immediately place it in the Encounter deck discard pile.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Koen Hendrickx
Belgium
Reet
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
secoAce wrote:

Yup, I had some confusion with the definition of "travel to a location" at first too.

There's the "Staging Area" which I can't believe wasn't given a more flavorable description, so I call it the "Distant Horizon". This Staging Area/Distant Horizon is where you see enemies and locations that you can approaching. You're not engage with them yet, but the anticipation of having to deal with them creates an ever increasing sense of Threat.

The Locations in the Staging Area/Distant Horizon are locations that you have to get through on your journey to complete your quest. You can actively be in and travel to only one location at at time, but you can decide which direction you want to go to. When you decide which location you want to travel to, you move that Location card from the Staging Area next to the Quest cards to indicate that is now the "Active Location" where you are at now located.

You have to travel through this active location before you can make progress on your quest, which means that any progress tokens you earn have to go to the Active Location and complete it before any remaining progress tokens can be placed on your Quest.

Once you've put the number of progress tokens required for the Active Location, that Active Location is now considered "explored", at which point you can resolve any "explored" actions for that location and then immediately place it in the Encounter deck discard pile.



Nice comparison!

you could say that you can send a "Northern Tracker" to a distant location to explore it for you, so you don't have to make the displacement yourself

and a "lorien guide" guides you through your location much quicker because he is a guide and knows the way!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.