Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Valor & Victory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Close Assault Example in rule book p11 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Buman
United States
Harlan
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the example on page 11 have an error? It appears to me that if the German player rolls an 8 that is modified (-1) for the leader and (-1) for the grenades, then the result is a six. The Kill number for a 1-1 assault is 6 modified (-1) for the American leader. Therefore the Germans needed a 5 or less to eliminate the Americans. Am I doing something wrong?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Szymon Brzosko
Poland
Bialystok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No You are not wrong. It is a mistake in there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Buman
United States
Harlan
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
brzosko wrote:
No You are not wrong. It is a mistake in there.


Thanks! I had not seen a post about it, so I thought maybe I was looking at it wrong
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Szymon Brzosko
Poland
Bialystok
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1932f20 wrote:
brzosko wrote:
No You are not wrong. It is a mistake in there.


Thanks! I had not seen a post about it, so I thought maybe I was looking at it wrong


OK, just one correction or explanation. The point is that in "old" rules kill number for 1:1 odds was 7. And this is the answer for this example. In the table the kill number was changed for the "new-6" one but statistics for units gave the same odds 1:1, and having the same modifications for Leaders and Grenades the conclusion for the assault is wrong.
sz
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Buman
United States
Harlan
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok thanks! That explains the why the example did not make sense to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Harris
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think there may be another error on Page 13 of the rules under Close Assault Procedure.

It says "...and odds lower than one to four (1-4) are resolved at 1-4." Shouldn't that be one to one, 1-1?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Buman
United States
Harlan
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
8bit wrote:
I think there may be another error on Page 13 of the rules under Close Assault Procedure.

It says "...and odds lower than one to four (1-4) are resolved at 1-4." Shouldn't that be one to one, 1-1?



No, the Close Assault Combat Table goes down to 1-4. If you have lower odds that 1-4, when attacking, you still use the 1-4 result.

Do you have the latest rules? The sentence you quoted is on page 11-12 in my rules book. I believe the latest rules are here: https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/92888/vv-standard-game-ru...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Harris
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1932f20 wrote:
8bit wrote:
I think there may be another error on Page 13 of the rules under Close Assault Procedure.

It says "...and odds lower than one to four (1-4) are resolved at 1-4." Shouldn't that be one to one, 1-1?



No, the Close Assault Combat Table goes down to 1-4. If you have lower odds that 1-4, when attacking, you still use the 1-4 result.

Do you have the latest rules? The sentence you quoted is on page 11-12 in my rules book. I believe the latest rules are here: https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/92888/vv-standard-game-ru...


Many thanks Dan, I'll check them out thumbsup
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.