Subject: Point of no return: Too many games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hildegunst von Mythenmetz
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey folks,

I have a problem and I'm sure some of you might be in a similar situation or already solved such thing. Here it is:

I am a board game fanatic. I started playing boardgames again only like 3 years ago and up to now I have about 100 games (expansions excluded). I love to unpack new games, learn the rules and do the first game.

But then there are plenty of games I would love to replay but the problem is: I rarely do!
Why?
Because I got and get too many new games!

Don't understand me wrong, I know it's kind of superluxury problem but on the one hand I love to get new games to get to know them and on the other hand I want to stick to only few games which can be played over and over again. My girlfriend plays many 2player games with me and I have a family we visit every 2 weeks to play family games we all enjoy. They do like playing new games aswell so I can come up every time with a new one. I have another gaming group with an owner of a boardgameshop so we try new games everytime he brings up so he can explain it to his customers. Right now I have no time for a third gaming group to focus maybe few games or let me say I don't want to have another weekly group since I lack time for other things aswell and don't want to get my girlfriend sick

So what are my options?
Let us say - for example - that I wan't to play Tzolkin, Castles of Burgundry, Stone Age, Pantheon, Through the Ages, Eclipse, Galaxy Trucker, Dungeon Lords and Race through the Galaxy more often (just a sample size now). Just to play every game once with my family would take 18 weeks and then I still don't have it played more often. Is there something I can do EXCEPT getting a new group?

Maybe someone has a mental trick like: Only play one game whole time until nobody likes it anymore, then take out next?