Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clairvoyance - Strange Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Antonio Nessuno
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Spell say: "During the Encounter Phase, you may test [LORE]. If you pass, you may choose to encounter a Clue as if you are on its space, ignoring Monsters on that space."

This means, if there are monsters on our space, we can't use this spell?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Honig
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There was a big thread about this earlier, ended up being no.

Long story short, Clairvoyance gives you an additional encounter option to add to your normal list of encounters. Monsters on your space force you to pick the Combat Encounter option regardless, but if you kill the monster you can take the Clairvoyance encounter as your additional encounter.

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1099208/clairvoyance
8 
 Thumb up
0.10
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrei Koenig
United States
Alexandria
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there are monster on your space, during Encounters Step, Monster Encounter is the first thing you must do.

So, lets say there is a monster on your space.

1. You combat monster.
2. If you kill it, you may cast Clairvoyance.
3. If you succeed, as an encounter, you may encounter a clue on another space as if you were there ignoring monsters on that space.

I hope it makes sense.

PS. Andarel beat me to it

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antonio Nessuno
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean-Philippe Thériault
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Think of it this way. If there's a Monster on your space, you're stuck fighting him, so you can't just durdle about with your psychic powers looking for clues. However, if you are in a safe place, you can go into the ritual and see far far away for clues, in which case the Monster on that far away space can't hurt you, given you are not there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Andarel wrote:
There was a big thread about this earlier, ended up being no.

Long story short, Clairvoyance gives you an additional encounter option to add to your normal list of encounters. Monsters on your space force you to pick the Combat Encounter option regardless, but if you kill the monster you can take the Clairvoyance encounter as your additional encounter.

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1099208/clairvoyance
Nicely worded summary to what was a super-messy thread - even with the designer's input. Good job.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sverre
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
koenigcitizen wrote:
If there are monster on your space, during Encounters Step, Monster Encounter is the first thing you must do.

So, lets say there is a monster on your space.

1. You combat monster.
2. If you kill it, you may cast Clairvoyance.
3. If you succeed, as an encounter, you may encounter a clue on another space as if you were there ignoring monsters on that space.

I hope it makes sense.


While this is probably how you want to do it in practice, you are allowed to cast the spell before you combat monsters.

As Daniel summarised so well, the Clairvoyance spell's effect is to create another encounter option.

So this is fully ok:

1. Cast Clairvoyance
2. Combat monster(s)
3. If no more monsters, you may encounter a clue on another space (or choose another encounter option, or choose not to encounter anything else)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.