Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Caprice vs criminal tricks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Toby Yasutake
United States
Bridgeport
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


The fine print of Caprice Nisei says that the runner needs to pass all the ice protecting the server.
Does that mean Caprice doesn't protect against sneakdoor beta if on HQ? What about Copycat? If the criminal uses copycat to come on to the server, did he pass the first couple of ice?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hopkins
United Kingdom
Edinburgh
Midlothian
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess if you want to protect against Sneakdoor with Nisei, you'll need to put her on Archives!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the runner past all the ice when you have passed the last piece of ice? Yes. It does not say the runner must pass each piece of ice individually. See Awakening Center for similar verbage.

And yes, it would not protect against Sneakdoor if on HQ. Sneakdoor is a "on successful run" trigger, and at that point you are past all ice and run is successful. Caprice is only good prior to access.
Quote:

3. The Runner encounters a piece of ice. (“When encountered” conditionals meet their trigger conditions)

3.1 Icebreakers can interact with the encountered ice, Paid abilities can be triggered.

3.2 Resolve all subroutines not broken on the encountered ice.

...Either the run ends: go to [6]

...Or the run continues: if there is another piece of ice protecting the server, go to [2]; if there is not another piece of ice protecting the server, go to [4].

4. The Runner approaches the attacked server.

4.1 Paid abilities can be triggered.

4.2 The Runner decides whether to continue the run.


So when 3.2 resolves, you either move to the next piece of ice, or go to step 4 (Approaching the attacked server)

The language on Awakening Center/Caprice basically put themselves BETWEEN there.

So 3.2, you pass the last piece of ice, but prior to 4 Approach attacked server, you trigger and resolve Caprice/Awakening Center.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ony Moose
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think you have to have passed all the ice on the server, just the innermost ice. Otherwise Minelayer would prevent her / awakening centre from working if you deployed a new Ice.

Copycating to her server counts as passing that final ice, which would trigger her I think. We already had a ruling that copycating away from her* server would not let her fire, since the runner effects go first and the runner would no longer be considered as passing the ice on her server. Hopefully the FAQ will clarify this.

*(the ruling was awakening center, but its the same wording)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.