Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Board Game (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating into a Port rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex D
msg tools
Hey all,

quick question:

can I retreat a ship into an uncontrolled Port?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Randolph
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As long as the associated land space is not controlled by another player, or, is controlled by you. If the associated land space is controlled by another player, including a PT marker indicating control of the land space, then you may not retreat s ship into that port.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SFRR wrote:
As long as the associated land space is not controlled by another player, or, is controlled by you. If the associated land space is controlled by another player, including a PT marker indicating control of the land space, then you may not retreat s ship into that port.

He's wrong.
You can't.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex D
msg tools
Haha well I'm content with either side of it so long as I could get a supporting statement from the rulebook or a FAQ or something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Radosław Michalak
Poland
Bytom
flag msg tools
Gaming is for having fun. Fun requires clear rules.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Official Responses from FFG
Ports section.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
roftie
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
No, you can't. The FAQ answers it directly:

FAQ, p.3 wrote:
Q: Can a player’s Ships retreat into a Port
connected to a non-friendly land area?
A: No. A player must control the connected
land area to move Ships (including retreating) into
a Port.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex D
msg tools
I guess strictly speaking though the answer is, "Yes you can, but your ship will be immediately destroyed as a consequence," which could be relevant at some point or other in some niche scenario...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bauer
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lcfr777 wrote:
I guess strictly speaking though the answer is, "Yes you can, but your ship will be immediately destroyed as a consequence," which could be relevant at some point or other in some niche scenario...


how do you come to this conclusion when the FAQ says clearly "No."?
You cannot retreat into a port where you don't control the connected land area.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Thisisnotmylastname
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You cannot retreat into a port if the land area connected to it is not yours.

Why?
You must retreat to the area that would give you the fewest casualties.
Retreating to a port that is not yours would destroy your ship.
Therefore, it is not the area that would give you the fewest casualties.

Hope this helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
roftie
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
angryelf97 wrote:
Why?
You must retreat to the area that would give you the fewest casualties.
Retreating to a port that is not yours would destroy your ship.
Therefore, it is not the area that would give you the fewest casualties.

That would imply that retreating into an uncontrolled port is possible in the first place, which is expressly denied in the FAQ. Uncontrolled ports are closed to the players' ships for all intents and purposes, and are not eligible to move to. So the port would not be included when considering which area to retreat to in order to suffer the fewest casualties.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.