Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Breaking the Chains: War in the South China Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Anti-submarine warfare question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Assume a US sub launches an SSM strike against a task force 2 hexes distant.
Am I right in thinking that air units within 6 hexes of the sub (illumination radius) can support the defender and make an anti-sub attack after the SSM strike has been resolved?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Gorkowski
msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Yes IF the defender declared those aircraft in support when the engagement was first defined by the attacking submarine AND if they have not already spent their once-per-cycle out of base hex strike this cycle. Then, at their place in the resolution process, the aircraft would trace a strike to the submarine's hex - since it fired it cannot evade this GQ cycle - and there attack the submarine with their U scores.

Note this is not some sort of "auto counter attack." Rather, the aircraft are just participating in a defined engagement as usual and striking a target with their U scores.

After said strike, the aircraft must be marked "recovery."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Miranda
France
Contamine sur Arve
Haute-Savoie, Rhône-Alpes
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot, John.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.