Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
40 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

Runebound: The Frozen Wastes» Forums » Play By Forum

Subject: FW PBF #15: Live and Let Die Discussion Thread rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erik Miller
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Players:
* 4

Pace:
* Normal

Player cards:
* All. Draw 3, pick one. If you don't like your choices, you can redraw one and keep it.

Leveling
* Normal

Important House Rules
Character nerfing house rules will occur for this game- every even level for trenloe, min. one for hugo, once per turn for the gnome

Market Decks:
* Everything
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Miller
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Game thread is up here!

FW PBF #15: Live and Let Die!!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Miller
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruno, I ALWAYS go after you and I ALWAYS have to go last. so you always go second to last. Stupid script!!!!!!

I'd like you to make a turn order list just to see if I feel cursed or if it is actually true.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Miller
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everyone not in town takes 1 frost due to the global
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lamb
United States
Birmingham
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure that was only supposed to refresh NON-sunburst spots not all of them, using the "refresh nosunburst"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lamb
United States
Birmingham
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No one has used one of the replenished starburst spaces yet, so i can go ahead and remove them. I'll remove the one I'm on for sure. I have an image of the map before the replenish. Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Miller
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
guitaraholic wrote:
No one has used one of the replenished starburst spaces yet, so i can go ahead and remove them. I'll remove the one I'm on for sure. I have an image of the map before the replenish. Thoughts?


I did all of them because it has the sunburst symbol on the lower left corner of the card.

However, I've been wrong before and, if I am, I stand corrected!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lamb
United States
Birmingham
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no you are right, i missed the sunburst on the card, just saw the refresh NON part. I'll undo what I just did
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lamb
United States
Birmingham
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there a limited amount of survival gear?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Holmes
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes I believe so.

Also I believe you can only buy 1 of each item in a market step (may be wrong)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.

Quote:
A Hero may purchase a maximum of one of each type of
survival gear during a single Market step. A survival gear token
of any type costs one gold. If no tokens of a certain type of
gear are available (because they have all been purchased), the
Hero may not purchase that type of gear until one is discarded.
Survival gear tokens count as Items for all game purposes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lamb
United States
Birmingham
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, now, I knew about the limitation of purchases more than one of each type, but when you get one as a reward and there are none to take you are just SOL?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
guitaraholic wrote:
Yeah, now, I knew about the limitation of purchases more than one of each type, but when you get one as a reward and there are none to take you are just SOL?


Yes. Although, there is almost no reason to ever have more than one of the luckstone or flares. I don't think I have ever used either.

Fortunately, there are extra snowshoes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Miller
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
guitaraholic wrote:
Yeah, now, I knew about the limitation of purchases more than one of each type, but when you get one as a reward and there are none to take you are just SOL?


Yes! Happened to me already too. With less people it happens a LOT less often. I'm just going to stock up on all the gear just to be a pain...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Holmes
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Flares are good later in the game when you know the sunbursts aren't in the deck, but yeah they aren't used often.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Holmes
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Remind me, when exactly can you use the stag to remove frost as you are getting it, or once you have it?

Makes a slight difference to my turn.

Also, my BC is make a ranged combat roll, would I face a -2 penalty against the wendigo since its a BC?

[didn't matter either way but want to make sure for next time]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Whenever the total number of frost counters placed on a Hero
or Ally’s card equals or exceeds his Life value, that Hero or Ally
immediately takes one white death counter.


When you take the last frost, it immediately triggers white death. There is no pause in between taking the frost and triggering the white death effect, so the deerkin liver would need to be used before contracting the frost.

As for the combat roll, a Before Combat "attack" is by definition a "combat roll". If you are rolling 2 dice, modifying with one of your combat values and comparing against a challenge's combat value, that is by definition a "combat roll". If you are attempting an "attack", it is an attack roll (which is a type of combat roll).

There is no phase timing, and no mention of "during combat" (like Tatianna's ability), so a Before Combat attack would be effected by the global.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Holmes
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Sweet, I'll slap on a frost then :S

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adam-

One more thing. When you discovered the Gauntlets, you had 2 Armor items.

You would have had to discard one of them...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lamb
United States
Birmingham
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
well crap, just got it to sell, should have got the axe... oh well
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas King
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adam, I want you to know that this was a difficult decision to make. I feel terrible. You made an amazing play to buy Bone Crusher, even though there were a few errors. It's probably the quickest anyone was able to buy Bone Crusher, and in the hands of Jonas, it has godlike powers.

But I don't know that I've seen an opportunity like this before. A prized, and expensive weapon in reach, the opponent is knocking on death's door, and I can kill him without entering combat. When does that happen?

I'm not usually for PvP, but damned if I'm going to turn away a chance like this. I am sorry, and I do feel bad. It's nothing personal, it's just Bone Crusher. Er, business. Well, both.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adam-

We play with softer knockouts for PvP. You only lose the item that Thomas took. You don't even lose your gold. Not sure what you had after defeating the blue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Holmes
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Everyone except Adam needs to take 2 frost from me triggering the blue global.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mil05006 wrote:
Before moving I'm going to discover the bow of the sky with a mountain and 3 wild rumors


Arrggghhhh!!!! I just finally got all of the rumors that I needed!!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas King
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We're getting down right dirty this game laugh

On a side note, it's been a while since I can remember so many legendaries being discovered before end-game (6 by my count). It's usually just Twisted Symbol, the axe (that surprisingly no one took, even though there's 3 melee (okay, it would be absolutely terrible for the dwarf)), maybe the trap or spear, but not as often. Rarrwarr is another popular one if he comes up in the draw. A lot of the really good ones people can't find until the end of the game, if ever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.