Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pixel Tactics» Forums » Rules

Subject: How long do 'ongoing' orders stay in effect for? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Hughes
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Pixel tactics 3 introduced 'ongoing' orders that do not specify the duration. I noticed that the scroll icon matches some orders from pixel tactics 1 and 2 that specify that they 'stay in effect until the end of the round'.

Is 'ongoing' just shorthand for 'until the end of the round'?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aitor
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules of Pixel Tactics have been updated. You can read the new version here.
http://www.lvl99games.com/games/pixeltactics/game-rules/

Don't download the PDF from the link above, as the PDF rules are still the old version.

This is what the updates rules say about Ongoing Orders:

Updated Game Rules wrote:
Some heroes in Pixel Tactics 2 and later have “Ongoing Orders”.  These are marked by a scroll symbol.

Ongoing Orders can only be activated from a player’s hand–they have no effect when triggered by another effect, like the Puppeteer, Mascot, or Doppelganger.

An Ongoing Order is placed behind the back row of your board, and there are 3 slots for currently ongoing orders. Turn the order 90 degrees at the end of each of your turns, including the turn when you play it. When it would be rotated a 4th time, it is discarded to your discard pile instead and stops working.


TL;DR: Yes, they work until the end of the round.
EDIT: Ooh, they don't!
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Talton
United States
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
(╯‵Д′)╯彡┻━┻
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hollyhock wrote:

TL;DR: Yes, they work until the end of the round.


The point of the update is that they work for an entire round, rather than the end of a round. So if you play an ongoing order in your rear wave, it's going to work until the end of your next rear wave, rather than stopping immediately when the round ends.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aitor
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kyokai wrote:
Hollyhock wrote:

TL;DR: Yes, they work until the end of the round.


The point of the update is that they work for an entire round, rather than the end of a round. So if you play an ongoing order in your rear wave, it's going to work until the end of your next rear wave, rather than stopping immediately when the round ends.


That is very informative. I think you should specifically write that into the rulebook to avoid confusion, as some sentences on the rulebook lead to thinking that ongoing orders only work until end of the round:

Rulebook wrote:
For example, the Tactician’s Ongoing Order will reduce all damage heroes and leaders take from attacks by 2 points for the rest of the round.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric O. LEBIGOT
France
Versailles
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
themanfromsaturn wrote:
Pixel tactics 3 introduced 'ongoing' orders that do not specify the duration. I noticed that the scroll icon matches some orders from pixel tactics 1 …
For reference: I don't see this icon in any of the Orders for Pixel Tactics 1 (English 2nd edition).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.