Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Puram
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
Let's meet up for games and coffee!
badge
Golden... As in Oldie! I'm new to the Portland area and looking for gamers to game with and new gaming groups to join! I'm 50+ and like most games but do have a special affinity for dry, cube pushing euros!
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the whole idea of seeking out so called gateway games to try to bring in new gamers is completely wrong in many cases. I know that if my first exposure to "modern" board games was ticket to ride & king of tokyo I'd probably have never even gotten into the hobby.

I happened to play Civilization and Trajan first and it was those games that got me hooked. It was the depth of choices and complexity that was so satisfying and eye opening to me and which got me hooked right away.

To me, a new gamer is probably already a gamer, they just don't know it yet. So hit them with the good stuff right away and blow their mind. I've tried several times to start out with the easy games and I've seen people leave the table kind of bored and unimpressed. My original thoughts were, well... I guess they just aren't the gamer type. But the more I think about it, I'm kind of bored playing most of those gateway games too, and I was from the beginning, so why would I expect differently from others?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
laura b
United Kingdom
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmb
Re: The trouble with "Gateway" games
you have to know the person's taste and the majority of people accessed boardgames through gateway games, I did, my husband did heck most of the people at the public gaming night we go to did.

If you know the person you are introducing to games wont like those kind of games then you suggest what you do think they will like.

Its all about taste...

the idea of gateway games is to introduce someone who may have been intimidated by the more complex games as an introduction.