Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Lincoln's War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Seditious cards number. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

What´s the matter with the seditious cards´ numbers?
If you can discard them any case, then those numbers seems ineffective.
Is that so?

Thanks in advance.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Seditious card number.
Not sure your question is quite understandable. So I'll try rephrasing it:

"If I can just discard seditious cards, what's the point?"

Well, you can only discard seditious cards if you have sufficient PC accumulated. You have curried sufficient political favor that the seditionist gets shouted down and you don't need to worry about them.

Unless you have the 10PCs banked, "discarding" means that you play the card for it's negative value and reduce your PC (and CSP, if required) by the value of the card.

The ability to discard seditionists if you have a bunch of them in your hand is simply a balancing effort. The game has enough pressures built in without forcing you to have a turn where the odds of ending with a positive PC & CSP total is small to none.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, Ken. Now it´s clear for me.

In this context, I thought that "discard" (without 10 PC) was not equal to "play". My poor english, probably.

Thanks again.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Osprey
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Errg...Argh..
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pavlo wrote:
Ok, Ken. Now it´s clear for me.

In this context, I thought that "discard" (without 10 PC) was not equal to "play". My poor English, probably.

Thanks again.


That's a good point you bring up Pablo. In this instance a discard = a play.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Poniske
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed to all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Boucher
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Osprey wrote:
Pavlo wrote:
Ok, Ken. Now it´s clear for me.

In this context, I thought that "discard" (without 10 PC) was not equal to "play". My poor English, probably.

Thanks again.


That's a good point you bring up Pablo. In this instance a discard = a play.


Technically speaking, it's skipping a play to get this card out of your hand because you have to take the effect if you can't get rid of it by playing a card that allows you to discard other cards from your hand. So the word "discard" is appropriate here.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Boyes
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I see that discard in LW means something different than in any other game involving card play that I've ever played.

Thanks for clarifying this.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.