Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: check out Lini rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Ham
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
CLICK THIS BEAGLE if you're looking for in-depth gameplay video run-throughs! :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just for 100% clarity, if Lini used the animal card in her hand to add 1d4 to the combat check when she cast the spell, she can use that same card in her hand to also add 1d4 to the check that determines whether she discards it or recharges it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Van Biesbrouck
Canada
St Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, they are separate checks and you can use a power once per check (or step, if isn't check-related).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Campbell
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's what's great about Lini; she gets essentially a 1d4 boost to EVERY skill for as long as she can keep an animal ally in hand. Makes her a good all-rounder and a pretty good divine mage to boot.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Smart

Kentucky
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And once you get the Cat ally (AP3), you can use its power "Reveal to add 2 to recharge a spell" AND reveal it again for Lini's power meaning you'll get +2 and +1-4 in addition to your Wisdom skill points and +1 to Divine. So, my Lini with Cat has 2+2+3+1+2dice meaning all recharges of 10 or less are auto-pass.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kysmart wrote:
And once you get the Cat ally (AP3), you can use its power "Reveal to add 2 to recharge a spell" AND reveal it again for Lini's power meaning you'll get +2 and +1-4 in addition to your Wisdom skill points and +1 to Divine. So, my Lini with Cat has 2+2+3+1+2dice meaning all recharges of 10 or less are auto-pass.
But that's the same check and you've used the card twice, is that allowed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
You can't play the same card twice. Doing something with a card as a requirement for something else is not playing that card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csouth154 wrote:
You can't play the same card twice. Doing something with a card as a requirement for something else is not playing that card.
Ah! Got it, thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathaniel GOUSSET
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Except Lini really doesn't need this +2 and will be better served with a more usefull animal ally like the monkey or the tiger.

She rechard for D10+D4+1(Divine)+1-3(Wisdom bonus)+1-4(ally dice bonus wich should really ocnsider maxing first).

That's easily a 9. No real need for the cat +2. Especially for someone that have access to cure spells.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Later on, some of the Recharge checks for spells get pretty damn high...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Smart

Kentucky
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IKerensky wrote:
Except Lini really doesn't need this +2 and will be better served with a more usefull animal ally like the monkey or the tiger.

She rechard for D10+D4+1(Divine)+1-3(Wisdom bonus)+1-4(ally dice bonus wich should really ocnsider maxing first).

That's easily a 9. No real need for the cat +2. Especially for someone that have access to cure spells.


And Scrying is 12, Major Cure is 10 or 12, Restoration is 14. There are plenty enough spells that will get put in her deck where the Cat is very useful. Oh and her bestest spell in the world Swipe is 10 or 12. Not to mention that as the deck gets fatter and fatter, you can't get those allies back nearly as quickly as you could early on limiting the effectiveness of the Tiger or Bear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.