Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Smash Up: Awesome Level 9000» Forums » Rules

Subject: Steampunk Dinos: Can the Mechanic pull the Rampage card? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Dunaiski
United States
South Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife was playing with a Steampunk Dinosaurs deck and tried to play the following move:

Mechanic was played. Text: "Choose an action in your discard pile that can be played on a base and play it as an extra action."

She then pulled Rampage from her discard pile. Text: "Reduce the breakpoint of a base by the power of one of your minions on that base until the end of the turn."

My argument was that the Rampage action does not state "Play on a base:" it is an action card that effects a base when played.

Her argument was that the Rampage action can't effect anything except bases so the action is being played on a base.

I would just like to hear what others think on this situation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
You are the correct one. Mechanic can only pull back cards that are of the type "Play on a Base."

Quote:
My argument was that the Rampage action does not state "Play on a base:" it is an action card that effects a base when played.


This is 100% correct. The wording "that can be played on a base" is not a license to pull back any card that that has an effect at or on a base (like Rampage, Terraforming or Broadside for example) but rather limits it to only actions that literally say they are played on a base.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.