Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek Deck Building Game: The Original Series» Forums » Rules

Subject: Upgrading characters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Albright
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
My wife and I got this game a couple of days ago, and we're really enjoying it. But there's one thing we aren't sure of. Some cards, like Memory Alpha, say you can upgrade a character in your hand or bridge to a character from the starbase. What should we do with the character we upgraded from? Should it go back to the starbase, or go to our discard pile? And should the card we upgrade to go directly into wherever the old card was, like our hand or the bridge, or should it go into our discard pile?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacovis
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The upgraded card goes to the trash pile if it is a starbase card, and to the appropriate stack of basic character cards if it is a basic character (ensign, lieutenant, commander). If it is one of the starter cards, they are set aside until the game is over.

The newly upgraded to card goes into your discard pile.

Cheers!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Sonas
United States
California
flag msg tools
The same is true when you buy cards from Starbase using XP - they go straight into your discard pile and so you usually have to wait a while until they will show up in your hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Albright
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Ok, that makes sense. Thanks guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arnaldo Carvalho
Brazil
São Gonçalo
RJ
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Jacovis wrote:
The upgraded card goes to the trash pile if it is a starbase card, and to the appropriate stack of basic character cards if it is a basic character (ensign, lieutenant, commander). If it is one of the starter cards, they are set aside until the game is over.

The newly upgraded to card goes into your discard pile.

Cheers!


And remember Mr. Albright, the trash pile will be shuffled and turn to a new stardeck pile when that ends. It means the same character card can eventually return to the game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.