Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Trieste» Forums » Rules

Subject: Merchant treasure rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Burtt
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
The following q&a took place a week ago:

the Merchant Treasure Map card says it can be used to "purchase" the Untold Riches card - which is the Merchant Victory Condition card not in the deck...does this mean that the Merchant automatically wins the game if this card is played??

john

No, the Merchant Treasure Map can be used towards paying for the victory condition card, like any other treasure card. You still have to pay the full cost. It's just an extra high-value treasure card you can get from the Merchant deck rather than the Treasure deck, and is limited in what it can be spent on. Think of it as a really valuable Chuck E Cheese token.

Stephanie Newland

Ah, ha: so basically you pay the cost of the card to include it in your treasure count for victory determination. I assume it counts as a four for that purpose?, so you're spending four to get a four?? I'm still missing something here.

What am I missing here??

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Ma
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
At the end of each turn, the Merchant counts the treasure cards in hand. If the value of those treasures equals to 11 + total level of captured thieves, then the Merchant wins.

Treasure Map is one of the unique treasure cards that is in the character deck rather than in the treasure pile. It has a value of 4. So if no thieves were captured, the Merchant would need 11 value of treasure in hand to win. Having the treasure map in hand means that the Merchant would only need an additional 7 value treasure to win because the Treasure Map counted for the first 4. Unlike the regular treasure you draw from the treasure pile, the Treasure Map ONLY counts for the Merchant victory condition. It cannot be used to play any other card in the game.

The Thief CAN steal this treasure card. However, rather than adding it to the hand, the card would auto-reshuffle into the Merchant deck, meaning stealing this card is primarily a defensive move to slow down the Merchant from winning. Likewise, the Merchant can use this to pay the City Watch if Income Tax is out, because the card still counts as a treasure. The Treasure Map would just reshuffle back to the Merchant deck as the card has a static effect of never being able to leave the possession of the Merchant's hand/deck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
D_Matt_Ma wrote:
Likewise, the Merchant can use this to pay the City Watch if Income Tax is out, because the card still counts as a treasure. The Treasure Map would just reshuffle back to the Merchant deck

Now that is an interesting move.

P.S.: Delete my earlier post, as it was clearly misinformed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Burtt
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Thanks, Matt. That makes a lot of sense!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.