Hide
13 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Number of Investigators at any time rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Wyatt Fields
msg tools
-Very new to Arkham horror, I have played one game with 4 other people and claimed victory over Azathoth which was a great feeling after over 2 hours of play.

I have purchased my own copy of the game and attempted to solo with 2 investigators and got my butt kicked. Reading some of the forums I see that many think its very difficult if not impossible to win with 2 or less investigators.

Is there any limit to the number of investigators you can control for solo play? or if i'm only doing it for the experience should I just disregard any investigator limits?

Thank you!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Teeka
Netherlands
Naarden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not that experienced myself yet, but I found 2 investigators to be perfectly doable. One lone investigator wasn't that good, because you just can't get around the board fast enough.

Though what matters more than just the number is
- the choice of investigators: they're not equally good to begin with, and some team up way better than others
- the AO for the game: size of the doom track (= time limit) and any powers that might hinder certain numbers of investigators more.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Iain K
United States
Arvada
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Futurezombie wrote:

Is there any limit to the number of investigators you can control for solo play?

No there is no limit. In my experience 4 investigators is a good number, and three works as a challenge. More than four can be difficult to manage.

With time, you'll find a balance of investigator skill sets that works for you and your style of play. Enjoy.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noreen
United States
flag msg tools
Fall in the Midwest
badge
Welcome to fall in the Midwest and a property with a lot of mature trees!
mbmbmbmbmb