Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Fading Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Borodino event question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
michael esposito
United States
morton grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Friction of war" event with a roll of 1 or 2; if movement is chosen, can units move in EZOC?

I should think not, as this would then lead to combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mike_espo wrote:
"Friction of war" event with a roll of 1 or 2; if movement is chosen, can units move in EZOC? I should think not, as this would then lead to combat.


On "Friction of War" the event for a die roll result of 1 or 2 reads: "...you must skip either your Movement or Combat Phase this turn (your choice)."

If you choose to skip your Movement Phase it would be impossible for any of your units to move, let alone move into an EZOC. However, any of your units which were already in EZOCs would still be able (actually required) to attack during your Combat Phase.

Conversely, if you choose to skip your Combat Phase, you could move your units (including moving them into EZOCs if desired), but you would not be able to resolve any battles -- even if you would normally be required to do so. The event, in effect, creates a special circumstance which, by choosing the "Skip your Combat Phase" option, circumvents/negates the normal requirement for you to attack enemy units which exert ZOCs into hexes occupied by your units for that one turn.

Does that make sense?

Lance McMillan
Developoer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael esposito
United States
morton grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. Lance. Did it right.

It does put the russkies in a tough spot as it is now their turn and now they are forced to attack the French at a disadvantage. Is this the intent of the rule?

Tks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mike_espo wrote:
It does put the russkies in a tough spot as it is now their turn and now they are forced to attack the French at a disadvantage. Is this the intent of the rule?


To some extent, yes. But the intent is also to try and throw a bit of a wrench into the French player's plans. If a French unit is already in a position where it can cut off a clear path of retreat for a Russian unit, that advantage (however temporary) is to a degree negated, because the Russian player gets a chance to mount his own attacks to try and escape that impending trap. It's a mixed blessing/catastrophe event, depending on the precise on-map situation when you draw it.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael esposito
United States
morton grove
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply.

Russians survived as the Elite V corps had to soak up three French units and was thus, routed(roll of 6-2=4) loss of -2 morale to put the Russians at 1 morale. French at 3.

Next turn French were able to attack a routed Russian militia unit at +3 and win the game. yuk Was not satisfied with that one.

I guess there is no mechanism for not using "gamey" tactics...ganging up on one routed unit to get that last morale pt as victory is automatic as soon as one side is 0 morale...they don't get to finish the turn.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.