Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Le Havre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Storehouse Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Justin McIntosh
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
The store house states "At the end of the game, value increases by 0.5 francs per standard or upgraded good."

Is this just an odd wording to mean that all of a player's leftover goods at the end of the game are worth 0.5 francs? I just don't understand why it says the value increases if by default the value of left over goods is zero, and why it wouldn't just say "all leftover goods" Does this effect goods in any other way? If you own the storehouse and ship off goods are they worth 0.5 francs more? I would assume not since it says at the end of the game. The wording just doesn't make sense to me.

We just played a game where the player who owned the storehouse had 64 leftover goods. So they just add 32 francs(victory points) to their score, correct?

thanks for the help!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Santoro
Brazil
São Paulo
São Paulo
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
It seems to be correct the way you played.

The card means that its value (the card's value) increases...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason RJ
United Kingdom
Gosport
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure if the buildings FAQ makes it any clearer, but it sounds like you're correct [24] Storehouse

The reason the value increases is that the storehouse on its own is worth 4. So the 0.5 Francs per good is on top of the 4, as oppose to it just giving value to goods.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin McIntosh
United States
Cambridge
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
The card's value increases by 0.5 francs makes sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At the end of a game of Le Havre, your score is determined by the sum of the printed values of your buildings and ships, the additional value of buildings with a plus symbol, and your cash - minus any loan penalty.

Certain buildings (like Storehouse) reward other holdings at the end of the game. This is done by increasing the value of the building - rather than saying that these other holdings are themselves worth points.

This is just the way the game works at the end - only building and ships add to your francs.

For example, the Dock's value is increased by 4 francs per ship. You wouldn't want the rules to say "if you have the Dock, each ship is worth 4 francs" - because that would be wrong.

It's just easier to say that these buildings' values are increased by your other holdings, because that keeps within the very simple francs+buildings+ships scoring.

As to why Storehouse calls out standard and upgraded goods separately, it's just because the card (like Dock, etc.) gives the icon for what adds to the value of the building. Since there is no single icon for generic goods, the card illustrates the individual icons for standard and upgraded goods.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.