Subject: Compared to... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Halasz
Hungary
Szada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I love Cuba, but I suggest Stone Age. It is also a great game, and simpler then Cuba, so it is better as a gateway.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
trarmstrong wrote:
I'm new to euro/worker gaming and deciding between Cuba and Stone Age.

Love the looks of the game along with mechanics, repeative play, and strategy.

Other options????

Thanks.
Definitions blur, but I wouldn't consider Cuba a worker placement game. What lets you "place workers" is playing the appropriate card from your hand. Also, you don't actually place physical workers. While you can get blocked out of certain spots, they're only blocking the Alternative.

For other worker placement games, they include Kingsburg, Agricola, and Pillars Of Earth

other games where it's role selection, check out Race For The Galaxy, San Juan, Puerto Rico, or Eminent Domain.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Bettan
Canada
Cote St Luc
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Both are great games. I prefer Cuba, but it really comes down to how you feel about randomness (input vs. output).

Stone Age involves dice rolling for resource generation (output randomness), so you don't have "perfect information" to optimize your turns.

Whereas Cuba has completely public information and the only random factor is the card draws at the start of each round (input randomness) and what the other players do.

Cuba is not that much heavier a game and, in my opinion, gives a richer experience.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Denman
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I own and enjoy both games. I'd recommend Stone Age as your next step.

trarmstrong wrote:
I'm new to euro/worker gaming and deciding between Cuba and Stone Age.

Love the looks of the game along with mechanics, repeative play, and strategy.