Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Iwo: Bloodbath in the Bonins 19 Feb – 17 Mar 1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Ae" and "De" results. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two questions:

-Four (or more) japanese units in banzai (or attack in a 2 player game). Are all of them eliminated with a "Ae" result?

-Two US units in a hex (marines and support unit). Are both eliminated with a "De" result in combat (not bombardment)?

I guess so, but... (bloody game, really)

Thanks in advance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Swan
Australia
Randwick
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As for your first question, I think all the attacking units in a Banzai attack are eliminated regardless of the die roll. Historically, they were suicidal rushes at the enemy lines that didn't leave behind much in the way of unit cohesion.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Case
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
#1. Andrew is correct. 20.5 Banzai Attacks, second to last sentence, "The attacking units are eliminated regardless of the combat result."
#2. Yes. Both would be eliminated. 17.2 Support Units In Combat, "In combat, treat a support unit as belonging to the unit with which it is stacked." I should think this situation rare though. For your stacked units to get hit with that De result, it would have to be banzai'd with Japanese units with at least a +4 (differential + two column shift to the right), only on clear/beach terrain, and roll a "1". Not likely at all.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo R
Spain
Pontevedra
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Yes, it´s true. I missed that point (20.5).

I know, this situations will be rare but for clarity.

Thank you very much to both.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.