Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mage Wars Arena» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can restrained creatures climb? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Figures first time any of us seriously play with walls, the entire damn game explodes.

So, can restrained creatures climb? Because, you see, in restrained it prohibits "move action", and in climbing it only talks about "taking a special action" and "moving".

Dat epic rules discussion today. >.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Cook
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Conceptually, no.

More specifically, the definition of restrained specifically states that the creature can take any full or quick action "aside from movement". Climbing is a special full action to "move into the adjacent zone". So even though someone tried to be rules-lawyer-y about it, the codex and common sense both agree that it's not allowed.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Challis
United Kingdom
Hungerford
West Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Conceptually or RAI definitely not.

Then again, RAI are irrelevant, and RAW are what count, and it's maybe not so clearcut there. It definitely shouldn't work, but Climbing is such a little used part of the game, that I need to go and check the rules to be sure whether it's prohibited or needs FAQ/Errata.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.