Mark Anderson
United States
New Brighton
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all,

This situation just came up in a game we are playing. I am the offense and have drawn the "Odd Way to Win a War" hazard card.

The text of "Odd Way to Win a War" reads:

"During this encounter, if one main player reveals an odd-numbered attack card and the other reveals an even-numbered attack card, the player who revealed the odd-numbered attack card automatically wins the encounter."


A player on the defending alliance is the Cyborg race.

The defending main player reveals a 04, I reveal a 01.

I think I've won, because I've revealed an odd-numbered attack card while the defender has revealed an even-numbered card. The Cyborg player decides to activate his power to discard the 04 and replace his (defending) alliance's card with a 15 attack card.

Is that permitted, or does "automatically wins" mean there isn't a window for the Cyborg to replace the card?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It doesn't matter either way. Cyborg doesn't change what card was revealed -- it just replaces the revealed card. Even if he replaced it with a 15, the fact remains he revealed an 04.

So whether he has a chance to change or not, you should still win that one.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
"Revealed" used an adjective in the reveal phase refers to whatever "your" encounter card is. Effects like Cyborg do indeed change "your revealed card".
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mil Myman
United States
Fountain Valley
California
flag msg tools
Why is there no Word Games Forum or Subdomain?
badge
There should be a Word Games Subdomain, or at least a Word Games Forum!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way the game works - powers, flares, etc., change stuff. Including the card revealed. The card the defense revealed is no longer the 04, it is now the 15.

Just like if someone played the Emotion Control artifact, both cards are now N's. You don't still win because your card had been odd.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Anderson
United States
New Brighton
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Thank you for the responses.

We randomly decided which way to play it, and allowed the Cyborg to change the revealed card. It looks like that was the correct outcome. So, we'll remove the asterisk from the Cyborg player's eventual win.

I'm accustomed to playing some LCG games with very specific timing rules on when you can take actions, which is why I was interpreting "revealed" and "automatically" incorrectly.

Thanks again!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.