Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Invincible Force Field + Pure Fury rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Higa
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Hello, all. Here's a newbie question for discussion:

Suppose you have the following turn:

There are 13 Shield cards in the KO pile.
The Invincible Force Field is up with 6 Scheme Twists.
Mr. Sinister has four Bystanders, making his attack value 12.

You play 7 Recruitment Points in other cards, then play Pure Fury.

What's the correct resolution?

A. You must spend 6 Recruitment Points to satisfy Special Rules. Then you defeat Mr. Sinister, rescuing the four Bystanders.
B. You spend only 5 Recruitment Points, reasoning that the 13 Shield cards in the KO pile give you one credit against the force field. Then you defeat Mr. Sinister, rescuing the four Bystanders.
C. You ignore the force field and defeat Mr. Sinister, rescuing the four Bystanders.

We played with A, in case that matters.

Thanks for your responses.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm going with C. Pure Fury is straight up defeat, he doesn't give you 13 Attack for 13 KO'd SHIELD cards and IFF requires you to spend when fighting (Black Widow's rare would go past IFF too IMO in this case against Sinister with Bystanders, as would Forge's rare with two previous Tech heroes played).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacovis
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
I'm going with C. Pure Fury is straight up defeat, he doesn't give you 13 Attack for 13 KO'd SHIELD cards and IFF requires you to spend when fighting (Black Widow's rare would go past IFF too IMO in this case against Sinister with Bystanders, as would Forge's rare with two previous Tech heroes played).


Rauli is correct. Invincible Force Field only requires the spent points to Fight the mastermind, not Defeat them. You essentially skip the "spend attack to fight" step when you "defeat" an enemy.

You can find reference to this in Dark City's rule sheet, and how defeat still triggers fight effects, but ignores abilities like zero and forearm, whose texts say "to fight...." So A is wrong.

B is wrong because of the reasoning for A plus because Pure Fury doesn't give you attack points he just defeats an enemy, as Rauli said, so he wouldn't take away from the force field anyway.

Cheers!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.