1989: Dawn of Freedom» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Czechoslovakia and the reds? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kristofer Östen Karlsson
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hey!
I just started playing this awesome game, but I'm a long time fan och TS, and me and my bestest TS-buddy feel right at home.
Contrary to most players though, we've found that the communist has a very hard time winning. No doubt this will even out with time and experience, but that's been the feeling so far.
Now to the actual topic:
I've been thinking about which countries are geared towards who. And it seems that Czechoslovakia is really hard to keep, in the long run, for the commies. Hear me out and let me know if I'm missing something:

All things equal, Czech Writers and Charles Uni are clearly going to the democrat. Between the starting INF, Jan Palach Week, and Helsinki, what can you do as commie, right?
That means that the worker triangle in Czech is really really important to take, and hold. If the democrat takes it, Prague will never be less than +/- 0 for Support Checks, given that DEM holds Charles and Brno, and COM holds Plzen and Ceske. Very dangerous and susceptible to Gorby, Inflationary currency, or raw power and lucky rolls.

So, we've established (I hope) that COM needs to take and hold the worker triangle Brno, Bratislava, Ostrava in order to not completely lose his footing. Let's look at the triangle, shall we?
It seems, the geography there is also heavily slanted towards DEM rule:
The democrat will most likely eventually take the Catholic Church - if not through starting INF then through Papal Visit.
He'll also easily take Katovice in Poland (good luck taking and holding that space as communist).