Popular Tags: [View All]
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello all,
Im still new to X-Wing and do not have a full compliment of ships to choose from. I currently own the following:
2 Core sets
1 A-Wing
1 B-Wing
1 Falcon

1 Tie Bomber
1 Tie Advanced
1 Firespray

My 100 point build for the Imperials was:

Darth Vader with Cluster Missiles and Marskmen for 36 pts
Mauler Mither with Veteran Instincts and Stealth Mod for 21 pts
The Dark Curse 16 pts
Night Beast 15 Pts
Academy Pilot 12 Pts

The basic concept was using Asteroids as cover so I could position my 4 Tie Fighters on the flanks while Vader would start in the middle.
The Dark Curse and Night Beast were positioned on the far left flank, Vader in the center and The Academy Pilot and Mauler on the right flank.

The rebel player took the A-wing with Tyco, Homing Missles, and Push the Limit. His next up was a Red Squad X-wing with R2D2 and Torpedoes. His final ship was a Dagger Squadron B-Wing outfitted with missiles and an Auto Blaster.

I won the encounter with Mauler at 100%, Vader with no shields but all hull , and the Academy Pilot at 100%. I was able to out maneuver his forces and with having 2 more vessels, was able to out gun all his ships. Vader dealt a huge blow when he unloaded his cluster missiles and did 4 points of damage to the B-Wing. Despite being in attack Range 2 of each of his 3 ships, Vader only lost 2 points of shield.

All in all I felt that The Tie advanced has a hard time keeping up with the Tie Fighters, which worked incredibly well as flankers, especially the ultra agile Mauler who rolled 4 defense dice all game long.

Tell me what you think, and what would be a better 100 pt build with my goal being a fast flanker force. Also, what would be some good upgrades to what I own.

So far I think that the next purchases will be in this order:
Y-Wing
X-Wing
Imperial Aces
Rebel Aces

Thanks for any tips in advance

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Firstname Lastname