Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Backhand Blow timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grzegorz Kulesza
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a problem with how the timing on Backhand Blow is supposed to work. Imagine we have a situation like this:

German Unit A (7 strength) stands on a hex next to Soviet Unit 1 (3 strength), which has a CB marker on it from previous turn, and Soviet Unit 2 (5 strength), which it actually wants to attack (for whatever reason). A Target marker is placed on Unit 2.

Can the following happen next:

1. Germans declare that A attacks 1 and 2 in the same battle.
2. Germans commit a Blitz! marker and Luftwaffe Support to the battle.
3. Soviets commit No Mercy! to the battle, expecting a 7 v 8 engagement.
4. At the end of the Commitment Step, the Germans play Backhand Blow to remove the CB marker from Unit 1 and turn the battle into a 7 v 5.

Is this legal? Or does "Axis Commitment Step" mean before the Soviets commit their card? Can another card be played during that Commitment step? What if the Soviet card were Russian Tenacity and only the CB'd unit were in a City hex?
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes it is legal.

The card is not used as a Combat card in a specific battle, so can be played extra. This is why the card text says "At the end of any Axis commitment step". So of course you can play a "regular" card in this step, too. You cold have removed Counterblows that were in no way related to the attack taking place!

And the Soviet Card CANNOT be Russian Tenacity! Why? Well, it's on the SAME event card than Backhand Blow!!! whistle

So it could be used to make the opposing player "Burn Through" some cards if the only battle is one involving attacks against counterblows (actually cancelling the battle).

Do not forget rule 5.3.2:

[5.3.2] Event Precedence: When there is a conflict between Event text and the Rules, the Event text takes precedence.

But that card could have been better explained. I'll take a note for the reprint.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kulesza
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot! And nice catch on the same card thing, it completely slipped my mind.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.