Chad
United States
New Brighton
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

So I'm an old time MTG player. I started playing when Revised was the main set and stopped around the time Mirage came out. I'm looking at getting back into playing again and I was just looking for suggestions on where to start?

Basically, I need to know what rule changes have happened since then, any new abilities that are not explained on the cards themselves, what set(s) I should be looking into, lists of restrictions/banned cards, etc?

Also, if anyone is in the Twin Cities area I wouldn't mind meeting up to play a few games. I never played competitively but I wouldn't mind trying it either.

Thanks in advance.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wally Jones
United States
Windermere
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Regs
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Where to Start?
Depends largely on whether you still have any of your old cards. But the more important question is HOW do you want to play. Casual tinkering with close friends or tournaments?

Rules Changes.
OHHH BOY.. Well you've been out of the game for quite a while, and the game has evolved A LOT over the years. By far the most relevant game rules change is the introduction of the stack which was in 6th edition (that happened more than a dozen years ago BTW).
The Following website attempts to catch up returning players based on when you left the game.
http://community.wizards.com/forum/faqs-and-reference/thread...

A slightly better option might be to just start with the basic rules all over again, found here:
http://www.wizards.com/Magic/tcg/resources.aspx?x=magic/rule...

What sets to look into; Banned /Restricted cards.
Depends largely on how you want to persue the game - which includes what format you may be interested in.
Information on various formats found here:
http://www.wizards.com/Magic/tcg/resources.aspx?x=mtg/tcg/re...