Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » General

Subject: CV escort rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar

May I ask why non-carrier naval units should escort carriers in a battle? Why not just send the non-carrier naval units to the battle hex and add their battle strength too?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it has something to do with taking damage. You can limit the amount of damage taken somehow by not putting them in the battle hex so they can only take hits from air units and this affects how the other units in the battle take damage. I don't remember the whole thing, but that is more or less what we came up with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Hope
United States
Woodside
California
flag msg tools
badge
Likes: Mountains, Tundra Turn-offs: Serpents, Marsh
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess one possibility is that you can't GET to the battle hex, and the second is that they can't be hurt themselves except by enemy air. So if you're attacking a big enemy naval base which also has some air, you might want to just get in range with your carriers and strike with full protection for them rather than throwing your navy into the mix too and letting his naval units have unfettered access to them.

It does seem like a high price to pay, though, and to be honest I DON'T read the rules as stipulating that non-CV naval units outside the battle hex can only be damaged by air. It says CVs can only be damaged by air (1 for 1), and it says that non-CV naval units in the hex must take losses before any reduced unit may be eliminated, but it doesn't say that those units ALSO require air capable units (1 for 1) to damage them. A literal reading of the rules (the non-air naval units MUST take damage) would actually also require flipped units to be eliminated before CVs in the event that they start flipped. I don't know if this is intended, nor if it has been clarified by a FAQ list somewhere.

So my intuition would be what Mark says, but I'm struggling a little to interpret the rules to support that. Hopefully someone with a lot more EotS-fu than I have can weigh in.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joekong_hk wrote:

May I ask why non-carrier naval units should escort carriers in a battle? Why not just send the non-carrier naval units to the battle hex and add their battle strength too?



It is rarely used for the reasons that you state, but there are times that the BB cannot reach the battle hex or the battle hex has lots of BBs and no air. In these situations the 14+ defense strength can sometimes limit your losses to the carrier.

Mark
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar

Thanks for all the replies.

I still fail to understand how escorts can protect CV. If there is no air unit or CV in opposing force, the CV should not get any damage. Then there is no need of escort. If there is any air unit or CV in opposing force, then the other side can select the CV to apply hits. Am I missing something here?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It has to due with the concept of all units are reduced before any are eliminated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kong
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
Avatar

drmark64 wrote:
It has to due with the concept of all units are reduced before any are eliminated.


That means if your CV is at reduced strength while an escort BB in full strength, the opposing air unit cannot damage your CV unless the escort is reduced first. Am I understand correctly?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's correct. So it behooves you to escort a CV with a full strength unit. This isn't going to happen often, but the US player can find it useful especially if they need to protect the carriers. I guess it could also apply to Japan if they have Yamato to soak up damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.