Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Romolo o Remo?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combat - The example is wrong? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rollo Tomosi
United States
San Juan Capistrano
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Combat, "ASSIGN CASUALTIES" (English rules, page 50), first sentence "The yellow player attacks with 2 Soldiers and with an AV of 8."

But a Soldier only has an AV of 3, so, 2 x 3 = 6AV, where are the other 2 AV coming from?

Also, far more importantly-once Yellow sees that they have killed the only remaining unit, that hex, and all the constructions on that hex are now Yellows' to use-why would Yellow destroy his own buildings?

QUESTION 1: Is the Yellow AV# in the first example of "ASSIGN CASUALTIES" wrong?

QUESTION 2: Why destroy any of your own constructions on your own hex?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Salamone
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Aggravating people worldwide since 1964
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
QUESTION 1: Is the Yellow AV# in the first example of "ASSIGN CASUALTIES" wrong?

The AV could have been modified by the Dux character, which allows you to add +1 to AV or DV four times during the game (including using the modifier multiple times in one turn). So, the attacker could have used +2 on this turn.

QUESTION 2: Why destroy any of your own constructions on your own hex?

Yellow can use the constructions, but so can Blue or any other player (because they aren't owned by a single player). Depending on the game conditions and placement of other constructions and units in other hexes, the Yellow player may have thought that it would be more beneficial to destroy them than to leave them there for others to use.

I think the example is really just a hypothetical situation written to demonstrate how the math works when you win battles and eliminate units and constructions. It may not be a realistic representation of a game situation. They're just letting you know that if there are no enemy units remaining, you may remove constructions.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.