Thunderstone Advance: Worlds Collide» Forums » General

Subject: worlds collide or TOR for new solo player rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Stargard
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hello,

I'm new to Thunderstone and will be playing solo, which set would you recommend or both?

Thanks
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
One caveat: the rulebook for Worlds Collide does not include the Solo rules. However, the digital rulebook for Towers of Ruin is available here, which does include the solo rules.

The heroes and monsters in both sets are excellent. I prefer Worlds Collide's village cards, for their artwork and their abilities.

In both sets you'll need to make allowances that thieves are less useful in Solo, and rangers (and ranger-like abilities, like those on Blessed Hammer and Jondul Bow) can be too good.

In Worlds Collide:
Bluefire Level 3 helps you avoid trips to the village, very helpful in Solo where the dungeon never sleeps.
Gohlen Level 3's Dungeon ability will be useless, so there's little reason to level him past Level 2.
Abyssal•Thunderspawn and Spider•Animals have nasty Breach effects. In a multi-player game, the breaches affect all players, but in solo it will harm the solo player alone, giving the edge to the monster score pile.
• I'm not actually sure about the interaction of non-Bearer Guardians with solo play. My guess is that Guardians' Breach effects should trump the solo rules, and cause them to sit in rank 0, rather than escape to the monster score pile.

In Towers of Ruin:
Whetmage, like Bluefire, minimizes trips to the village (and even better than Bluefire does).
King Caelan's Writ becomes a pure money-saver, rather than way to snipe a revealed hero from my opponents.
• It's best to just let Kobold•Humanoids escape, unless you play that the monster score pile is a legal target for their traits.