Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Mystery of the Templars» Forums » Rules

Subject: 12 questions or statements that need answer or approval rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Evelin Auger
Canada
Portneuf
Québec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Questions and clarifications that should appear in the rules set.

I played my first game and I really enjoyed it even with the problems encountered with the rules. This morning, I reread the rules and found out that many of the mistakes we made were because of a lack of knowledge of the entire book of rules. It feels a lot like the rules of Napoleon's triumph or Guns of Gettysburg. Almost everything is there but you have to be very careful with the phrasing of each of them and not "assume" that a rule stated before affect another thins that resembles the same rule.

Here are some questions for you:

1- Page 5 number 8, do we place the 2 knights « revealed » or « not revealed »?

2- Page 5 number 9, should it read « 2 relics marked 0-2 » instead of « 2 relics marked 11 and 12?

3- Page 6 (this is not a question) « The phases of a round ». Phase 1 - Missions: The first phrase should be put after the second one. It brought a little confusion since you assign your knights tokens and cards then, you reveal the two cards.

4- Escort and excavation cards in case of failure. Let’s say two players sent a knight for the excavation and it failed; the card says that the two least valorous knights pay a penalty. Does both players pay the penalty?
5- Phase 3: The rule says « The two event cards revealed each round are always resolved in Priority order. » Which order, the higher number or the lower number first?

6- Enemy attacks. If a knight enters a territory with brigands and there is already another knight there, does both fight together? I think not but this raised a big discussion.

7- If a knight loses the attack and he does not have a ressource, does anything happen to him?

8= Brigands: Page 14 "The number shows how many counters are placed on the game board ». Should it read: « The number shows how many counters are placed on each land territory the brigands are in »?

9- Sarrasin attacks. The rules says you can reveal a knight for the defense. Do you get a victory point or coin for revealing the knight like in phase 5? Same question for the phase 4 loading transports and revealing a knight from your player sheet.

10- Page 17 Caravans and ships. They move in order of the priority number. Higher or lower number first?

11- Page 18 Maintenance. We pay for each seal on the game board. Seals aboard ships and caravans are on the game board so must we pay for them?

12- Page 18 Maintenance. Can we chose not to pay for one seal and remove it from the game board?

I think this game is great and it will become one of my favorites.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Newyn
Italy
Correzzana
Italia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dear Evelin,
Her the replies to your questions:

1 - All the players' resources are always placed face down.
2 - 2 relics marked 0-2
3 - No, because you first need to reveal the missions and after you assign the knights tokens.
4 - Yes, it there are just two knights no choice, both will suffer the penalty, in the case of 3 knights there will be chosen the two less valorous.
5 - The lower first
6 - No, the enemy have been activated when a transport enter in a territory, so that transport will fight with them, not other knights on the same territory.
7 - Nothing
8 - No only on the Territories with the correspondent letter printed on the event card.
9 - No you get the Vp only on phase 5.
10 - Starting from the lower.
11 - Yes
12 - Yes

Thanks to have chosen our game and enjoy it.

Bye
Silvio
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evelin Auger
Canada
Portneuf
Québec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
3- Page 6 (this is not a question) « The phases of a round ». Phase 1 - Missions: The first phrase should be put after the second one. It brought a little confusion since you assign your knights tokens and cards then, you reveal the two cards.

No, because you first need to reveal the missions and after you assign the knights tokens.


Then on page 8 it says:
1- Each player chooses knights templar card
2- Each player chooses 1 knight templar
3- The top card of the escort mission is revealed
4- The top card of the excavation mission is revealed

It is in contradiction with page 6 The phases of a round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Slowiak
United States
New Lenox
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You most definitely place the knights before the revealing of the cards.

I see exactly what you are saying on page 6, but it is written out-of order. What you see on page 8 is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evelin Auger
Canada
Portneuf
Québec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes but anyway, I think we are going to play with the escort mission revealed then we play a card and the token then, reveal the excavation card.

This sounds more logical to me and a little bit less randomly. If I am offered a job protecting a group, I want to know if it is very dangerous and what is the reward. For the excavation, nobody can tell what you could find.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Slowiak
United States
New Lenox
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Part of the gameplay as you play more is really figuring out your risk/reward during that phase. It is one of the places you can directly influence what can happen to others.

Remember it is cooperative in that phase to figure out if you can succeed, but if you can work it so you succeed and your opponent can fail that is better for you in the long run.

That being said of course, it is your game to have fun with, so if you like playing face up I'm all for it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Newyn wrote:

7 - Nothing
11 - Yes
Thanks to have chosen our game and enjoy it.

Bye
Silvio

An old thread I know but I just picked this game up and read through all the rule posts up to this point.

It seems the answers to these are contradicted by earlier statements from Newyn.

For #7, it was mentioned before that since a Knight is also a resource he can be lost to an enemy attack. So if he is by himself and loses, then he is lost, being the only resource to lose.

For #11, it has been stated several times that there is no maintenance on Ships and caravans. The only payment is for seals in the territories that are not in buildings.

So which is correct? The earlier statements or these newer ones?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
toby
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems pretty clear to me that the designer (i.e. the guy replying to the questions, above) had his intent as regards the "Missions" phase changed by the developers, and that he intended for players to make their decisions by quasi-blind bidding on KNOWN quantities, which certainly seems more interesting to me than the randomness of flipping the cards after Knights Templar are assigned. That would explain the "flipped" phrasing on page 6; it's a relic (in a rulebook that obviously isn't great) of the original intent.

But I'm mystified that the designer (Newyn/Silvio) answered question 11 as he did, as he definitively stated elsewhere that transport seals don't need to be paid for (which jibes for me since they're played on the cards, not on the board).

Re: question 7 answer seems weird to me, too, given what he (Newyn) said elsewhere. BUT, the actual rule reads "Each player shuffles all the Resource counters he/she owns on that Transport, face down." The Knight acting as a transport isn't really a resource-on-that-transport. So maybe it is just the counter being transported by the Knight that's at stake, and he botched the earlier answer here -- https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1013568/transport-quest... -- when he goes along with the notion that the Knight and his good are randomized if they lose a fight and one is picked to lose. (If it's the knight the good goes on the board under the player's seal, waiting to be picked up.)

The answer given above in this thread certainly seems more elegant, and, as stated, jibes with the exact language of the rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.