Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Kingdom Builder» Forums » General

Subject: Just a small Kingdom Builder Quiz rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Suizul R
Switzerland
flag msg tools
mbmb
It's your last turn and you have only one settlement left. You place it on the board and the game will be finished, as you have no movement ability.

What's the highest number of gold you can earn by placing this settlement? (contrary to not placing this settlement)

Rules:
- Base game only
- You can assume any three Kingdom Builder cards
- You can assume any already built settlements from you and your opponents
- You have the terrain card that fits your needs

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Fun question!

I get 30 points fairly "easily":

Spoiler (click to reveal)
If it were to join 2 groups of 19 + 20 for Citizens, that's a gain of 10 points. (10 from citizens before, 20 from citizens after the move.)

And if it were also joining 2 locations which previously were connected to no other locations for Merchants, that's 8 more points.

If it also were the first settlement of any player on an empty quadrant for Lords, that's 12 more points.

So: 10+8+12=30 points.

(I'd like to touch a castle while I'm at it, but the above technique requires the last placement to be on a corner of a quadrant, and there seems to be no castle adjacent to a corner, at least on base set maps.)

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucio Pierobon
Germany
Bad Tölz
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd say 27 gold in one specific place in one specific map.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Lords, Merchants and Farmers final scoring and Paddock map in the game:
12 golds for moving from 2nd (with 0 settlements) to 1st in the Paddock region
12 golds for linking 3 special locations
3 golds for adding 1 settlement to the sector you have less.
This would happen by placing your last settlement as the only one settlement on the valley to the left of the leftmost paddock in the Paddock map (see image 1152365) and by that linking three special locations


24 in any other location of any other map.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Lords, Merchants and Farmers final scoring in the game:
6 golds for moving from 2nd to 1st (or from 3rd to 2nd) in one region
12 golds for linking 3 special locations
3 golds for adding 1 settlement to the sector you have less.
3 golds for touching a new town


Regards
Lucio
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suizul R
Switzerland
flag msg tools
mbmb
russ wrote:
Fun question!

I get 30 points fairly "easily":



Russ takes a lead with fairly "easily" 18 points "only"

Spoiler (click to reveal)
For Lords, if no one has a settlement in a quadrant, everyone has 12 points already for having the most settlements there:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/7885483#7885483

So you would actually gain 0 gold, but everybody else would loose 6 gold.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt E
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
Fun question!

I get 30 points fairly "easily":

Spoiler (click to reveal)
If it were to join 2 groups of 19 + 20 for Citizens, that's a gain of 10 points. (10 from citizens before, 20 from citizens after the move.)

And if it were also joining 2 locations which previously were connected to no other locations for Merchants, that's 8 more points.

If it also were the first settlement of any player on an empty quadrant for Lords, that's 12 more points.

So: 10+8+12=30 points.

(I'd like to touch a castle while I'm at it, but the above technique requires the last placement to be on a corner of a quadrant, and there seems to be no castle adjacent to a corner, at least on base set maps.)



Spoiler (click to reveal)
Teeeeeechnically that doesn't work. You'll get 12 Lords points for that quadrant if nobody has anything in it. Your opponent will have 6 fewer points, but that's beside the point.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suizul R
Switzerland
flag msg tools
mbmb
Iago71 wrote:
I'd say 27 gold in one specific place in one specific map.



24 in any other location of any other map.



Regards
Lucio


Sorry, no moving ability allowed:

Suizul wrote:
It's your last turn and you have only one settlement left. You place it on the board and the game will be finished, as you have no movement ability
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucio Pierobon
Germany
Bad Tölz
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Then it should be 32.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Link three different 13-settlements regions (14 points) each of which contain a single linked special location (12 points) and by doing it move from 2nd to 1st (or from 3rd to 2nd) in one speicfic sector (6 points).

Don't think it is possible to do it by placing a single settlement in one sectore to get the 12 points.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucio Pierobon
Germany
Bad Tölz
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No moving involved
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suizul R
Switzerland
flag msg tools
mbmb
Iago71 wrote:
Then it should be 32.


That is at least what I got for the solution too.

Congratulations, you are a real BoardGameGeek.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Suizul wrote:
russ wrote:
Fun question!

I get 30 points fairly "easily":



Russ takes a lead with fairly "easily" 18 points "only"

Spoiler (click to reveal)
For Lords, if no one has a settlement in a quadrant, everyone has 12 points already for having the most settlements there:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/7885483#7885483

So you would actually gain 0 gold, but everybody else would loose 6 gold.


Doh, L* brainfart indeed. I got 18, not 30, agreed. Although giving -6 to opponents is worth 6 to me, so I might consider it 24.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.