Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Combat Commander: Pacific» Forums » Rules

Subject: Elementary Op/Fire question... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
"We don't see things as they are, but as we are." Anais Nin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a little confused by op/fire in regard to how many times a particular unit can utilise it.

Bottom line: how many times can the same (otherwise inactive unit) be activated by the op/fire action during his opponents turn?

I get that it remains active against a still-moving unit; but can it be activated again against another moving unit during the same turn?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy Nowak
United States
Kenosha
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thechangingman wrote:
I am a little confused by op/fire in regard to how many times a particular unit can utilise it.

Bottom line: how many times can the same (otherwise inactive unit) be activated by the op/fire action during his opponents turn?

I get that it remains active against a still-moving unit; but can it be activated again against another moving unit during the same turn?

Thanks.


If you look in the rules, under Op Fire, you will see in the important grey box under A41.3 Exceptions:

Quote:
Note that units are activated for Op Fire,
so they could not be activated for Op Fire
again in that same turn if the active player
announced another Move order.


So, bottom line - once per MOVE ORDER by the ACTIVE player. It can be utilized against any and ALL units activated by that move order, but if a second move order is played, it cannot be activated again.
11 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
"We don't see things as they are, but as we are." Anais Nin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Though the Hero is the exception that proves the rule, I believe. :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy Nowak
United States
Kenosha
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
huffman123 wrote:
Though the Hero is the exception that proves the rule, I believe. :-)


Yes, the Hero is the exception to this, but also clearly stated in the rule Heroes 3.3.2b
Quote:
b) As an exception to rule O20.2, a Hero
may be activated more than once per turn,
thus allowing it to perform more than one
order or Op Fire per turn.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
"We don't see things as they are, but as we are." Anais Nin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scoutmom wrote:
huffman123 wrote:
Though the Hero is the exception that proves the rule, I believe. :-)


Yes, the Hero is the exception to this, but also clearly stated in the rule Heroes 3.3.2b
Quote:
b) As an exception to rule O20.2, a Hero
may be activated more than once per turn,
thus allowing it to perform more than one
order or Op Fire per turn.


And thereby facilitating the activation of the same unit twice too?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simone dalla Chiesa
Italy
Cassina de' Pecchi
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
thechangingman wrote:
And thereby facilitating the activation of the same unit twice too?


No: You can activate 2+ times the Hero, not any other unit. Once he activates a Squad in same hex, that Squad is "spent". The Hero can then go on with activations, if any is left.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martyn Smith
England
Bourne
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
"We don't see things as they are, but as we are." Anais Nin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the clear explanation...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What about a Banzai Charge order? It also activates all the defending units for OpFire, right? It means they cannot be activated again? Or what about if they had OpFired before the Charge order?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct
Correct


Quote:
O25.2 ALLIED ACTIVATIONS
After steps a through c above have been completed – but before Movement physically begins – any or all Allied units not yet activated for the turn may be immediately activated for an Op Fire action [A41], at the Allied player’s discretion.


So, the Allied player may choose to hold back some units in case there is a Walking Wounded Event, or something...but if he does, to activate them later in the Japanese turn would require a Fire Card, whereas to activate them now is free.

Also note that units that typically couldn't be part of a Fire Group without multiple Fire Actions (and not at all for Fire Orders) could not be part of the same fire group (such as two units out of Leadership control).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, it's clear. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.