Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rod Shelton
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just getting into dust, and was wondering if anyone can help me understand what differences there are between the FFG revised rules and the new v2.0 rules. So far the only thing to jump out is the dice having extra sides, so I'm sure there are rules to use the army symbol and shield. Anything else that's interesting? I'm also assuming that old minis are still usable going forward, right?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Shydler
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sighting rules are different (no longer is LOS from centerpoint to centerpoint- no more centerpoints, in fact).

Vehicles get saves, and infantry get either terrain or infantry saves.

Units move roughly twice as fast.

Weapons attack with more dice than previously.

Card stats for all units are completely reworked/different...the new cards will be released in a couple months.

You can download the 2nd ed rules for free at www.dust-tactics.com.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Larouche
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
Melting souls with cuteness since 2007
badge
Lovin' N-16
mbmbmbmbmb
V2 is almost a different game altogether.

What V2 changes over V1:
- LOS rules more difficult to play with, but more realistic (supposedly).
- Ranges of guns and unit movement are increased. They've been doubled in most cases and for air units, they have the equivalent of being able to move anywhere on the board.
- Most guns have significantly increased number of dices for an attack. Expect to throw over 16 dices for regular infantry attacks...
- Infantry units can now attack vehicles in melee regardless of the weapons they carry.
- Vehicles now have facing rules.
- Abilities and weapons effects have changed.
- The dices have changed. They are now smaller and have 3 symbols instead of 1 and blanks. They "supposedly" make more sense (according to the publisher).