Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gandalf and infighting rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Murray
United Kingdom
Driffield
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone, last night we were playing Carrock and we had two goblin snipers in the staging area. I dealt with them using a combination of Gandalf and infighting but I am not sure it was legal...

I played Gandalf and placed four damage on one of the snipers, then played infighting to move two of the damage to the other sniper, thus killing both. Was that legal? I was not too sure about the timings...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
Offhand I'd say that doesn't work, you can't really do interrupts like that in the middle of another effect unless its some improbable Response specifically designed so. (Also, even if it was kosher timing wise in principle, once one mob had enough damage to be dead he'd be dead, no way to move some damage off first.)
7 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think this was legal. When you put the 4 damage tokens on the first sniper, he is immediately killed and discarded. This whole sequence of events happens at the same time, and there is not an action window between putting the damage tokens and discarding the sniper in which to play Infighting.

Edit: Jan Probst beat me to it.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mighty Rauros
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agree with the above. Love the creativity, though!
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Murray
United Kingdom
Driffield
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the responses - better try that scenario again...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brother Leon
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
I paid 100 GG for this thinking it was a Geek Badge...
Avatar
mb
you need to put the 4 on the troll then two on each sniper
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
nssxxx wrote:
you need to put the 4 on the troll then two on each sniper

Can't do that with one Infighting though.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Murray
United Kingdom
Driffield
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys but this was before a troll was even out - we were taking our time completing the first part of the quest in order to find Beorning...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.