Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dungeon Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Deft Titan
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After a few plays, rereading the rulebooks, the FAQ and the threads here, I have the following questions:


TOAD: If a witch uses TOAD SPELL on a hero via a scroll ability, does the hero become a toad immediately and forfeit already rolled dice? Or does the hero change to a toad after combat? If a hero uses TOAD spell on monster via a red one-use scroll, does the effect take place immediately during combat? Can a hero be healed from TOAD?

PAIN: If PAIN can only be used to target heroes, can a witch cast the PAIN spell using the scroll ability? It's not different from other spells just because it's a KS exclusive black die, right?

CTHULU: Aside from being a black trophy, is there a reward for defeating Cthulu? Cthulu also can be level 6, but even with an expansion pack there are only 5 monster level dice. Shall one just be counted and rerolled?

HAMMER/SHATTER: On p.10 it reads: "...Players equipped with a HAMMER may negate an opponent’s ARMOR. For the duration of combat, the opponent may not force rerolls by using the armor ability..." Q: Since a Shatter icon is different from the hammer equipment. Is this armor-negation always on so long as a hammer is equipped, whether or not the hammer triggers the shatter ability?

REWARD TIMING: If a player has no keys, but defeats a monster awarding a locked chest AND a potion dice (monster rolled a 6), and that potion dice happens to be a key, can the key be used to get the artifact at the same time the key is earned?

BARTER TIMING: If two players defeat a monster via assistance, the FAQ says that you receive rewards before agreed-to exchanges take place. Does this mean that all awards are known and drawn from dice bags before any roll-offs or exchanges occur?

GUST: A dragon with GUST and FIRE rolls FIRE uses it's FIRE ability to cast the FIRE SPELL die and add combat damage. Not satisfied, the dragon then uses the GUST ability to wipe away all spells and reset combat. Can the dragon now use the FIRE ability again?

LEGENDARY ARTIFACTS / PETRIFY: How does one heal wounded equipment? Is wounded equipment still considered equipped for purposes such as bows (HUNT - choose from 2 monsters), spears (REACH - roll non-wounded dice before confront), hammers (Negate opponent's armor in combat), etc?

PAIN/PETRIFY/SNATCH TIMING:
Also posted in this thread, please confirm accuracy of:
For PETRIFY and PAIN:
... and occurs automatically AFTER combat IF AND ONLY IF the monster is defeated in combat.

For SNATCH:
... and occurs automatically AFTER combat IF AND ONLY IF the hero is defeated in combat.

FAMILIARS: Can you use more than one familiar in combat if you possess them? Is there timing to rolling familiars? Can you use the faerie and rat during combat, not just before or after? If so, when rolling the rat, do you get a potion immediately in combat or after combat?

ARMOR VS DRAIN: Can a zero armor roll "protect" you from drain by being the lowest rolled die added to the opponent's roll?

ENCHANT: Can rusty or exceptional equipment be enchanted? The word "standard" makes this confusing.
From the Enchant definition: "... If the player owns the standard equipment equivalent, he may ENCHANT his equipment by..."
From the Equipment definition: "...on standard EQUIPMENT the symbols are BLACK. If the symbols are GREY .. rusty... If the symbols are PURPLE... exceptional."
I would suggest errata: "ENCHANT: "... if the player owns a non-artifact equipment equivalent... "
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donn Hardy
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TOAD: There is no cure from Toad. If it takes place after dice are rolled, the roll goes =away and the attack is just one point (not one die).

PAIN: The witch can use Pain, but the wound occurs after combat.

CTHULU: There are no official rules for Cthulu. Do what you like with him.

GUST: All spells are reset, so the Dragon can use Fire again.

WOUNDED EQUIPMENT: These wounds are the same as other wounds. The die can not be used in any way until it is healed by a cure spell or one-use die.

PETRIFY/PAIN/SNATCH: I believe these are clarified in the FAQ, but yes, those are correct.

FAMILIARS: You may use as many as you have. I assume that the Faerie and Rat were specific to avoid confusion about healing and receiving items during combat, which are usually prevented by the rules.

ARMOR: A zero (but not a blank) can be removed/stolen by Lash/Drain.

ENCHANT: In the context of the rule, it makes sense that it is referring to the blue die equivalent of the drawn yellow die. Your errata makes sense though.

The others I am unsure about.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deft Titan
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Donn Hardy! Not to be picky about discussion, but any sources?

As for Familiars, I sued the Rat and Faerie examples because those two familiars are specifically called out in the rulebook that they may be used before or after combat. It doesn't say if they may be used during combat, or anything else on timing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Donn Hardy
United States
South Euclid
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Most of those answers are from discussions over in the KS comments. Others are (in my mind) logical interpretations based on what is written in the rule books.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Mr
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
HAMMER/SHATTER, REWARD TIMING, BARTER TIMING, LEGENDARY ARTIFACTS / PETRIFY: I have the same doubts.

And one more...

A hero(player) with Spear can use both the Reach and Scout abilities (both exist in Spear dice) before deciding whether he will want to fight the monster?

Ie, first the monster will roll their dice, the hero will also roll your dice, and only after check the results (numbers and abilities drawn) of the dices is that the hero decide whether to fight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mariusz Kosecki
Poland
Elbląg
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Peterweb wrote:
A hero(player) with Spear can use both the Reach and Scout abilities (both exist in Spear dice) before deciding whether he will want to fight the monster?

Ie, first the monster will roll their dice, the hero will also roll your dice, and only after check the results (numbers and abilities drawn) of the dices is that the hero decide whether to fight?

Nope. You have to have the spear equipped. Thus you roll the spear before confronting the monster. Then, if you roll an eye (scout ability) on your spear, you can activate the ability to see the monster roll. There's 1 chance in 6 to use the scout ability, otherwise it would exist on all the faces.

The same for shatter - the die denotes a hammer no matter what face you roll but you only use the shatter ability if you roll the hammer symbol. Reach is an exception because you use the ability before you roll but that is why spear symbol is shown on all the faces of the die.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.