Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ezren Power rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kenneth John Balgos
Philippines
Manila
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm confused with Ezren's 3rd power. Is that "add 1 die" or "add 1 to result"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Add 1 to the total, not 1 die. So if he rolls a 6, it becomes a 7.

That power is a modifier for checks to recharge cards. And as such, it comes into account during the "Attempt the Roll" step of "Attempting a Check"

Rulebook v3 p11 wrote:
Attempt the Roll. Roll the dice and add up their value, adding or subtracting any modifiers that apply to the check. If the result is greater than or equal to the difficulty of the check, then you succeed. If the result is lower than the difficulty, then you fail. No matter how many penalties are applied to a die roll, the result cannot be reduced below 0.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth John Balgos
Philippines
Manila
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Add 1 to the total, not 1 die. So if he rolls a 6, it becomes a 7.

That power is a modifier for checks to recharge cards. And as such, it comes into account during the "Attempt the Roll" step of "Attempting a Check"

Rulebook v3 p11 wrote:
Attempt the Roll. Roll the dice and add up their value, adding or subtracting any modifiers that apply to the check. If the result is greater than or equal to the difficulty of the check, then you succeed. If the result is lower than the difficulty, then you fail. No matter how many penalties are applied to a die roll, the result cannot be reduced below 0.

Got it! Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth John Balgos
Philippines
Manila
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Add 1 to the total, not 1 die. So if he rolls a 6, it becomes a 7.

That power is a modifier for checks to recharge cards. And as such, it comes into account during the "Attempt the Roll" step of "Attempting a Check"

Rulebook v3 p11 wrote:
Attempt the Roll. Roll the dice and add up their value, adding or subtracting any modifiers that apply to the check. If the result is greater than or equal to the difficulty of the check, then you succeed. If the result is lower than the difficulty, then you fail. No matter how many penalties are applied to a die roll, the result cannot be reduced below 0.

Btw, you rock!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gavin Herbert
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
Yes every time you use a spell atempt to recharge it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, there is subtle nuance that can sometimes go unnoticed. That power applies to any check to recharge a card not just to recharge a spell. So if Ezren is attempting to recharge a Codex, he can use that power. If he is attempting to recharge a Wand of Force Missile, he can use that power.

But it has to be an attempt to recharge. Brodert Qunick, for example, has a check to discard him instead of bury him. That power would NOT apply to Ezren's check to discard Brodert Quinck.

If you put lots of rechargeable items in Ezren's deck, that power can be super helpful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.