Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Q: Brain Transplant rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Isaksson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Action: Choose an insane character and a ready character controlled by the same player. The ready character goes insane, if able. Then, restore and ready the targeted insane character. "


What if the insane character can´t be restored? I guess that the "ready character goes insane, if able" still applies? Correct?



[Sedated (core):"Attach to an insane character. Attached character cannot be restored."]

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
'Cannot' is always an absolute in FFG LCGs so Sedated would stop that character from being Restored.

The wording for Brain Transplant means you can still choose both characters, but only the first 'ready' character will go insane. You won't be able to carry out the second part, so that will be ignored.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rollingthunder wrote:
"Action: Choose an insane character and a ready character controlled by the same player. The ready character goes insane, if able. Then, restore and ready the targeted insane character. "

What if the insane character can´t be restored? I guess that the "ready character goes insane, if able" still applies? Correct?


Right. It goes like this:

1. You choose the two characters. There are no restrictions here about whether they are able to go insane so the choose succeeds.

2. The ready character goes insane. This happens first, because of the "then".

3. The insane character restores and readies. However, because of the "then" this effect is dependent on the first effect. That is, if the ready character did not go insane then this doesn't trigger. If the character cannot restore and ready then they won't, but this does not impact the first effect which has already happened.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Isaksson
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thx!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.