Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Sail to India» Forums » Rules

Subject: Building Buildings using Trade Good Markers on Same Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Looks like a rules change from Okazu to AEG.

Per Okazu, the build building action allows use of a cube already on the card where the building is. AEG rules require that you use a ship that is at sea under the card where the building is.

Intentional rules change?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the rules in front of me but I don't think this is a rule change. Once a cube is on a card it's committed to being a building or a trade item. Only ships can be used to build a building.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Big Bad Lex wrote:
I don't have the rules in front of me but I don't think this is a rule change. Once a cube is on a card it's committed to being a building or a trade item. Only ships can be used to build a building.


The link at: http://okazubrand.up.seesaa.net/image/SailtoindiaE-web.pdf says otherwise. I do not have the game here to check what was packed inside the box.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Goodenough
United States
Burnsville
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Goody
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Build Building" section on page 14:
Pay two wealth to take one of your markers and place it on one of the card’s buildings. Your marker must either be a ship from the sea area below the building’s card or one of your markers on the card (i.e. a trade good marker or another building).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Game Geek wrote:
"Build Building" section on page 14:
Pay two wealth to take one of your markers and place it on one of the card’s buildings. Your marker must either be a ship from the sea area below the building’s card or one of your markers on the card (i.e. a trade good marker or another building).


I must be confusing something. From page 14 of http://www.alderac.com/images/2013/11/STI_Rulebook.pdf:

Pay two wealth to take one of your ships from the sea area of a coastal town it's sailing under and place it on one of the card's buildings.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K S
United States
Roseville
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dkeisen wrote:
Game Geek wrote:
"Build Building" section on page 14:
Pay two wealth to take one of your markers and place it on one of the card’s buildings. Your marker must either be a ship from the sea area below the building’s card or one of your markers on the card (i.e. a trade good marker or another building).


I must be confusing something. From page 14 of http://www.alderac.com/images/2013/11/STI_Rulebook.pdf:

Pay two wealth to take one of your ships from the sea area of a coastal town it's sailing under and place it on one of the card's buildings.



This has been changed in the rules with the game to be exactly what John from AEG posted (the post you quoted here).

You can take a ship in a sea area of a card to build a building on that card (place the ship on that building) or from the card. So you could take one from a trade goods on that card to build a building or from one of the other two buildings on that card, as long as you pay the 2 monies
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
shrey
United States
Watertown
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Game Geek wrote:
"Build Building" section on page 14:
Pay two wealth to take one of your markers and place it on one of the card’s buildings. Your marker must either be a ship from the sea area below the building’s card or one of your markers on the card (i.e. a trade good marker or another building).


John, the rules PDF that is up on your website (http://www.alderac.com/images/2013/11/STI_Rulebook.pdf) has different text.
It states:
AEG Rulebook wrote:
Pay two wealth to take your ship from the sea area of a coastal town it’s sailing under and place it on one of the card’s buildings.

I assume you need to update the website PDF.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.