Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Panzer Grenadier: The East Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: PG HQ Function??? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ROB VERRY
United States
South Cairo
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I noticed included in the base set are HQ's for both sides in counter form, but don't seem to have any game function. I couldn't find any reference of their use in the rules, or scenarios, so why are they included? Did I miss something? I sure would like to include them in play if possible, as they seem to represent Battalion HQ staff. Many thanks in advance for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Lloyd
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That depends on which edition of the rules you have. Headquarters were in the 1st & 2nd editions, under rule 15.1. They are basically a target you need to protect. Here is how they worked:

Quote:
15.1 Headquarters (HQ).
In some scenarios, headquarters are present as units. HQ units indicate the morale of a side's forces. The numbers in white/red in the lower right-hand corner of the HQ unit correspond to the full/reduced strength morale of that side's units specified in the scenario instructions (see 14.0).

The loss of an HQ unit is catastrophic; no friendly unit within 15 hexes of where the HQ unit was destroyed may move during the remainder of the current turn or during the two subsequent turns.


Since I got in on the 3rd edition initially, I have only seen HQs in Tank battles and the original Winter Storm mini-campaign by Norm Smith. I posted an updated bersion here. I may still be able to find the original if you like.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ROB VERRY
United States
South Cairo
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Thanks Peter, now that makes sense. And yes, I will certainly use anything you have to offer. I jumped into PG using 3rd Ed. rules, so I guess that's why I missed what they were originally intended for. I just used my own house rules for them, where they could randomly dispense leaders and themselves function as uber-leaders if need be. On the negative side, if they were destroyed, 'sudden death' would take place (as in CC) and the game would immediately end, calculating victory points. Seemed like a fun house rule
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.