Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Dungeon Dice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can poison reduce monster's level below those available on die? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Skaak
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We ran into this question tonight. The monster was level 2, with no level 1 printed on the monster die. Can you poison it down to level 1 anyway?

We played that you could not (since the poison description explicitly mentions rotating the die), but I'm interested in knowing if that's the official stance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve B.
United States
Cherry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Says right in the description that it may only target a monster not currently at its lowest level.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skaak
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! Completely overlooked that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Omael Rangel
Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you need to poison the monster before combat begins? or can you do it on the run after they rolled their dice?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Skaak
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
omael wrote:
Do you need to poison the monster before combat begins? or can you do it on the run after they rolled their dice?


The rules don't state that it has to be used prior to combat, but if you do it during combat you have to figure out what to do about the monster's already-rolled dice.

We've been playing that both poison and strength have to be used prior to rolling, but as long as you agree how it can be used beforehand it's not going to break the game if you use it after the fact and remove the monster's lowest die or something.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Omael Rangel
Mexico
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
i think i found it :-/
POISON POTION - The target’s level decreases by 1 for the duration of the turn.

If LEVEL dice have already been rolled, the lowest is removed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Can never go below 0.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.