Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Heroes of Normandie» Forums » Rules

Subject: Driven Back - how does it work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Niclas Willberg
Finland
Vaasa
flag msg tools
The moon bearing the image of the desert kangaroo mouse, Muad'dib.
badge
The planet Arrakis, known as Dune.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card "Driven Back" says that:

Quote:
Play as soon as an enemy unit receives a Suppressed marker.

The unit that received the Suppressed marker must immediately retreat toward its deployment zone for its whole movement value.


Does "its whole movement value" mean the unmodified movement value? Since the suppression marker just reduced the movement by 2.

We assumed it meant the unmodified value, since it would be quite weak otherwise. But it isn't really clear, since whole movement could as easily just mean "it has to use all its movement and cannot only go 1 space if it could go further".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
We had the same issue and used the unmodified movement value of the unit.
But given the ambiguity of the phrasing both would be possible.

A definite answer would be nice.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr G
United Kingdom
Hatfield Heath
Essex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The word 'received' (past tense) implies that the unit already HAS the marker, so its move rating will already be lower due to suppression.


But then 'whole movement value' may imply otherwise.

I think the rules are translated from natural French though, so I could be wrong either way!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
the mention of "whole movement" does seem to imply to use the natural move value rather than the reduced value due to the suppression token.

though, if the aim is to drive a unit out of a strong defensive position, then often a move of 1 or 2 spaces suffices
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvador Bernadó
Spain
Gavà
Barcelona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that since the card specifically says 'whole movement' it means without counting the -2 for the suppressed state.
If it wasn't all the movement the card should just say "The unit that received the Suppressed marker must immediately retreat toward its deployment zone".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.