Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darren Mac
Canada
Valley
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is an aggressive game. If I am playing it correctly (and I may not be ), the throne and corners are both out of bounds (except for the king), and hostile (even for the king).

Because the board is so congested, and there are so many hostile squares, the single space movement, and it's reduced mobility, are a huge, important departure from similar games.

So my question is: does the reduced mobility help the defender or the attacker? The defender already has a difficult challenge.
I guess I have 2 questions:

Do you think the reduced mobility is meant to balance the game more to help the defender?

DOES the reduced mobility ACTUALLY help the defender in practice?

I'm asking these questions, because as a complete novice, I am having trouble ever winning with the defender.

Thanks in advance for any reply!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
mbmbmbmbmb
It strengthens the attackers' already sizable advantage to nearly overwhelming in my experience.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon
Canada
flag msg tools
Traditional games that have survived the test of time and ancient games that have not are a part of our heritage.
badge
m'n - the Egyptian hieroglyph for board game, also signifying "stability" and used phonetically as in the last syllable of "Tutankhamun"
mbmbmbmbmb