Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror: Innsmouth Horror Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trish's Personal Story (with a press pass) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Sherlock
United States
Anaheim Hills
California
flag msg tools
badge
Admin @ www.cigargeeks.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had this question come up last night, and it is a definite splitting hairs, semantics issue.

Trish had a press pass (exhaust when gaining a clue to gain an additional clue).

If Trish has an encounter that gives her a clue, and she uses her press pass, does she succeed in her personal story?

Argument for: Trish got two clues in an encounter

Argument against: The encounter only gave her one clue, the second clue came from the press pass not the encounter.

How would you rule on this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kārlis Jēriņš
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
I'm a sheep.
badge
A lovely, fluffy sheep.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would rule against. But I don't own either of the involved expansions and haven't played with them in a long time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blue 80
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If "exhaust when gaining a clue to gain an additional clue" is the text then I would rule for. It is an "additional clue" gained "when" not "after" thus you gain two as if simultaneously.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Exhaust when you gain one or more Clue tokens to gain 1 extra Clue token."

My first thought on this matter was "Heck, no... choose the harder option..."

But reading the text of the card, I found that this was an EXTRA clue token, and gained "when you gain".

"Extra" and "when" both imply the second clue token is part of the same batch.

To seal the deal, Trish's story pass reads "If Trish gains 2 or more Clue Tokens at the same time during an encounter..."

During an encounter; not from an encounter. And press pass tells us they are gained at the same time.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My vote's with Radulla. The clues are gained at the same time.

Press Pass is great (too great) and now it's a great way to give Trish a little PS security.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Pilkus
United States
South Riding
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
+1 for Radulla's response ~ that's how I play it and will continue to do so.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.