Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple Tri-maf Contact rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian Ermentrud
Germany
flag msg tools
I am wondering if you can use more than one Tri-maf contact if you have more than one installed.

http://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/05050

It just says: "You cannot use Tri-maf Contact more than once per turn"
Does that refer to the single card? I am totally unsure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J F
msg tools
Well that's an interesting question actually, the closest thing to it would probably personal workshop where each card is considered a separate entity (i.e. you can't remove counters from a separate occurence). In which case you could so, you'd be giving yourself quite th flatline risk, but you could do so.

Disclaimer: this is not me stating definitively, but insinuating based on a similar card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Galbraith
Canada
Lower Sackville
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
From the core rule set:

Quote:
Self-referential Language
Unless otherwise noted, a card with text that refers to its own
card title only refers to itself and does not refer to other copies
of cards with that title.
21 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Xu
Thailand
Bangkok
Bangkok
flag msg tools
mb
If Tri-maf contact is trashed from runner grip, does runner take 3 meat damage ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Akyiikaung wrote:
If Tri-maf contact is trashed from runner grip, does runner take 3 meat damage ?


There is still some debate regarding this because of cards like Subliminal Messaging.

However, it is generally understood that cards in Grip are inactive, and their effects do not apply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Galbraith
Canada
Lower Sackville
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think so. When it's in your grip it's inactive, so it shouldn't?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ray Saltrelli
United States
Hilton
NY
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Inactive" meaning they are considered to have no card text? Because losing cards from taking meat/net/brain damage is considered trashing (per the rule book) so unless the ruling is that cards in hand have no text then Tri-Maf still fires if trashed from the runner's hand due to damage taken.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
reymundo514 wrote:
"Inactive" meaning they are considered to have no card text?


Yes, that is exactly what inactive means.

Core rules p5:

Quote:
Inactive: An inactive card’s abilities do not affect the game
and cannot be triggered.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless there is a FAQ or rule in the H&P insert, yes, cards in grip are Inactive.

The reason cards like Snare, etc work on the corp side is because as per the FAQ

Quote:
When Accessed Abilities
A card with an ability that triggers when the card is accessed
does not have to be active in order for the ability to trigger.
When resolving such an ability, simply follow the instructions
on the card.


There is currently no similar language for "When Trashed" so a Tri-Maf trashed from Grip or Stack would have no effect, only when installed.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Falko Sieverding
Germany
Rees
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
@OP: I will not allow more than 5 TMContacts at the same time on all tables in our playgroup, so just donnot play them!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sigal
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tri-Maf isn't unique, so I don't see any reason why you couldn't have more than one installed. If you install all three, I imagine you could click three times for 6 credits (using each once).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Dilloo
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
Everything is relative to perception, and your perception is limited.
badge
The Ginger Ninja
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have no idea, but I am itching to SeaSource/Freelancer you just thinking about it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wray
United States
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bigloo33 wrote:
I have no idea, but I am itching to SeaSource/Freelancer you just thinking about it


With a scored Cleaners. devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
cynchwyrm wrote:
bigloo33 wrote:
I have no idea, but I am itching to SeaSource/Freelancer you just thinking about it


With a scored Cleaners. devil


Cleaners doesn't interact with Tri-Maf. The Corp isn't doing damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.