Moritz MacBenic
Germany
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So I figured this configuration of Wedge...
Wedge Antilles (29)
Veteran Instincts (1)
Advanced Proton Torpedoes (6)
R7-T1 (3)
Shield Upgrade (4)

Total: 43

View in Yet Another Squad Builder

...might be pretty good at jousting his enemies. Since he has VI and thus is almost always (it can so far only happen in miror matches, else they fire simultaneously) shooting first he can fly up to his opponent, check for Range 1-2 and acquire a TL. Then he can use his APTs or just fire with 4 dice, but always reduces Agility. With the TL he can one-shot his opponent pretty likely, even if it's a TIE-Int.

Also: Kyle or Jan might be nice supports because of the wonderful range their abilities have. You have to know for yourself if you rather take a focus from Kyle or get another die from Jan. I prefer Kyle.

If you are certain, that PS 9 will be enough, then this configuration will be even more attractive to you:
Wedge Antilles (29)
Push the Limit (3)
Advanced Proton Torpedoes (6)
R7-T1 (3)
Shield Upgrade (4)

Total: 45

View in Yet Another Squad Builder

This Wedge can use R7-T1 to close in and TL, then PTL to focus additionely, thus becoming a nice killing machine.
The better support for this Wedge-Config would be Wes Janson with VI, for stripping Wedge's enemy of his Evade tokens. I would use this if I'd knew I go up against heavier fighters like the TIE-D or perhaps the Phantom. Because Wedge can still use the TL on the cloaked Phantom, but it couldn't attack it would be an easy jousting round, probably not destroying the Phantom (though perhaps with a crit, idk) cause it wouldn't be allowed to hit back. And if it's in it's decloaked status, then Wedge ahs an even easier time (2 Agility in decloak only, remember!)

If you want to argue, that a cloaked ship cannot be Target locked, please show me the passage on the two rules cards we have here:
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Breuch
Germany
Kettig
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MOELANDER wrote:
Since he has VI and thus is almost always (it can so far only happen in miror matches, else they fire simultaneously)
11 < 12
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse L
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
40+ points of your squad in 1 ship? Yeah I'd play against this any day. Keep in mind wedge only gets one shot. Meaning even if you do one-shot an enemy ship, the rest are unphased. And that's the thing about the empire, they tend to come in big numbers. When I fly 5 ints at you and you shoot one of them down, the other 4 unload 12-16 dice at wedge. You lose half your squad, I lose 1/5th. I'm cool with that.

Yes R7-T1 is nice on wedge, helps him come in close for range 1 shots, but I would drop everything else at that point. No torps, no EPT, no modification. It's just too much... He's already got a giant bullseye on him with no upgrades.

edit: as a side note, you keep using the term "jousting". Jousting refers to a play style where you both fly straight at eachother, k-turn, fly at eachother again, k-turn, and so on. I'm not sure you're using it correctly.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allen T
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, using the excuse of TL to see if you will be in range 1 after boosting might not be against the rules but is a bit questionable, to me. And besides me mentioning I had hoped cloak prevents TL I don't know anyone has ever argued that.

And shooting an Adv. Proton without a focus is truely a waste of points, so you need Kyle in the squad with the first build.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moritz MacBenic
Germany
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zyankalium wrote:
MOELANDER wrote:
Since he has VI and thus is almost always (it can so far only happen in miror matches, else they fire simultaneously)
11 < 12


Mein lieber deutscher Freund. Hättest du aufmerksam gelesen, hättest du gesehen, dass ich Roark Garnet bereits berücksichtigt habe, aber danke für deine Ergänzung!

Back to Topic:

I know that this configuaration is actually not very competitive...

in Standard play!

In Epic Play this Wedge configuration could prove a valuable Escort header. Especially if you team him up with Biggs, who cares for his survival (and a lot of X-wings)
like this:
GR-75 Medium Transport (30)
WED-15 Repair Droid (2)
Toryn Farr (6)
Engine Booster (3)
Backup Shield Generator (3)
Comms Booster (4)
Combat Retrofit (10)
Quantum Storm (4)

Wedge Antilles (29)
Push the Limit (3)
R7-T1 (3)

Wes Janson (29)
Veteran Instincts (1)
R2 Astromech (1)
Engine Upgrade (4)

Lando Calrissian (44)
Opportunist (4)
Nien Nunb (1)
Navigator (3)
Engine Upgrade (4)
Millennium Falcon (1)

Rookie Pilot (21)
R2 Astromech (1)

Rookie Pilot (21)
R2 Astromech (1)

Rookie Pilot (21)
R2 Astromech (1)

Biggs Darklighter (25)
R5-P9 (3)
Shield Upgrade (4)

Tala Squadron Pilot (13)

Total: 300

View in Yet Another Squad Builder
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rossi
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
MOELANDER wrote:
So I figured this configuration of Wedge...
This Wedge can use R7-T1 to close in and TL, then PTL to focus additionely, thus becoming a nice killing machine.


Remember that R7-T1 requires an action, so if you are boosting in to range, even with push the limit you can only target lock or focus, not both. You would need a support ship to supply the second token, and you really need both with APT.

If you run in to Wes and Roark, Wes can strip your target lock before you fire the torpedo. I haven't seen anyone suggest these two together yet, but it has the potential to be pretty potent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moritz MacBenic
Germany
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Side slip wrote:
MOELANDER wrote:
So I figured this configuration of Wedge...
This Wedge can use R7-T1 to close in and TL, then PTL to focus additionely, thus becoming a nice killing machine.


Remember that R7-T1 requires an action, so if you are boosting in to range, even with push the limit you can only target lock or focus, not both. You would need a support ship to supply the second token, and you really need both with APT.

If you run in to Wes and Roark, Wes can strip your target lock before you fire the torpedo. I haven't seen anyone suggest these two together yet, but it has the potential to be pretty potent.


No, I can TL and focus, since the TL is R7-T1s key action! After I made that TL with him, I get a free Boost, and I don't need an engine upgrade for it! It specifically says it's a free boost action. Afterwards I can still take the stress token from PTL and focus, since that is the action I didn't do so far. Oh and it actually is not a TL action. The card says "acquire", which is not the same as Target Lock Action. So basically I could still do another TL even if that makes no sense at all (except if there'll be a Y-Wing title for the S3 variant in the future, granting you a crew upgrade and you take Weapons technician.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony Rossi
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
MOELANDER wrote:

No, I can TL and focus, since the TL is R7-T1s key action!


Right you are! I guess I should read the whole card before commenting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle A

Illinois
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
monkeykins wrote:
Also, using the excuse of TL to see if you will be in range 1 after boosting might not be against the rules but is a bit questionable, to me. And besides me mentioning I had hoped cloak prevents TL I don't know anyone has ever argued that.

And shooting an Adv. Proton without a focus is truely a waste of points, so you need Kyle in the squad with the first build.


It depends on how it is used and which set of rules are used. In competitive play (which I always try to follow), you must declare your action first. So in this case, if you use the droid to get TL, yes you must measure the range on the specific ship only. But declaring the action means you must execute even if it doesn't work out as you expected. After the TL you then are able to boost if you wish. I would say it is a 3pt gamble to see if you are able to boost for range. Most players who have experience should have a good idea if they will be in range 1 or not after a boost without having to measure. The way the card reads, you must be in the firing arc to even use the action. Unless you are on the very edge of range 2, most likely a boost will push you into range one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moritz MacBenic
Germany
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KickinAces wrote:
monkeykins wrote:
Also, using the excuse of TL to see if you will be in range 1 after boosting might not be against the rules but is a bit questionable, to me. And besides me mentioning I had hoped cloak prevents TL I don't know anyone has ever argued that.

And shooting an Adv. Proton without a focus is truely a waste of points, so you need Kyle in the squad with the first build.


It depends on how it is used and which set of rules are used. In competitive play (which I always try to follow), you must declare your action first. So in this case, if you use the droid to get TL, yes you must measure the range on the specific ship only. But declaring the action means you must execute even if it doesn't work out as you expected. After the TL you then are able to boost if you wish. I would say it is a 3pt gamble to see if you are able to boost for range. Most players who have experience should have a good idea if they will be in range 1 or not after a boost without having to measure. The way the card reads, you must be in the firing arc to even use the action. Unless you are on the very edge of range 2, most likely a boost will push you into range one.


That is correct. And as we all know (and love) Wedge reduces the defenders agility. In most cases Wedge fires first, unless his target has VI with a rank of 8 or 9, or if it is a mirror match and you have Roark Garnet in your opponents squad. In case of Soontir Fel or Darth Vader they fire simultaneously, so Wedge still get's his shot off.
Now considering you have PtL on Wedge. You do the R7-T1 trick and then you still may use PtL to perform an action from your action bar. Like Focus for example. If you gave also some APT's you are looking at a very nasty Damage roll. Add Jan Ors as support, and Wedge fires his APT's with 6 dice damage. Three of his blanks he may turn into focus, which you can promptly use the token for. All in all we have a very high rate of throwing at least 4 damage down in this attack. let's say the defender is Turr Phennir. He may only defend with 2 green dice then. So if he doesn't have an evade token, he looks at 2 damage at the very least, and one of them most likely a crit. Not a very pretty sight.

And if Wedge kills his target and get's through the round relatively unscathed he maydo exactly this again, but only with 3-4 dice... for which he has both a TL and a focus ready. Also if Jan is in the Team as mentioned before he may still have up to 5 dice.
Nice!

But I think it is best used in Epic play, backed up by a GR-75 with a comms booster. In that case you can switch Wedge's PtL for something different, like VI to ensure he fires first (most of the time) or perhaps even opportunist.

Which brings me to a question: Can Lando give his free action to the GR-75 or the CR90?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Egan
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Huge ships can't take free actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.