Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

DC Comics Deck-Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: starbolt Q rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mel Miranda
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
If I played starbolt then later on in the turn, I was able to somehow get rid off some super powers in my discard pile, will starbolt's power decrease or will it remain the same?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Cooper
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Mage Wars: Beastmaster's Pet
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any card's powers are played at the moment the card is played, so Starbolt can get you a load of power, then you can play a 'draw cards' card that means you have to shuffle your discard pile, but you still have whatever power you got with Starbolt.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael McGlade
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
This is my "Golden Rule" for the DC DBG that will help answer just about any question.

When you play the card, forget about EVERYTHING else and let that card finish doing what it does.

Scenario: You are playing as Booster Gold and have Watchtower in play.

You play Starbolt and have 5 Super Powers in your discard. You gain +2 Power from Starbolt and an additional +5 Power for each Super Power in your discard. Your total power for the turn just went from 0 to 7.

You play Superboy and return Bulletproof from your discard to your hand. Superboy gives you +1 Power bumping you from 7 to 8 total power for the turn.

Now, Watchtower triggers and you draw a card for playing Superboy.

You play Bulletproof to gain +2 Power bumping your total to 10 power.

Booster Gold's ability triggers and you gain +1 Power for playing a card with a Defense. You now have 11 Power.

-----------------

So, as you can see, everything goes one at a time. Nothing happens at the exact same time and past played cards ALWAYS return their worth.

Some other common examples:

You play The Penguin as Flash. You draw two cards from The Penguin and then discard two cards. Afterwards, you draw for being Flash. You DON'T draw three and then discard two.

You have The Batcave in play and play Nth Metal. You'll look at the top card with Nth Metal first, choose to destroy it or not, and then draw from The Batcave.

~Zuty
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.