Because wording matters and I want to try and make things as unambiguous as possible.
As a result of clarification of rules and unification between this and playtesting of multi-player rules there has been a change. If you capture an opponent's base you can spend cards to build ships there. For most of the game this won't matter much but for some strategies it may make it easier to hold a base you surprised your opponent by being able to take.
We will also be including instructions on how to combine multiple decks for how to play with 3 or more people in the rulebook for the base game instead of waiting for expansions.