Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spending Target Lock w/ Hobbie rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Raz
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Can you spend a target lock and re-roll 0 dice?


Here is the senario:

Hobbie + R2D6 + PTL


Hobbie moves, focuses, PTL target locks, takes stress, attacks and spends target lock (even if he doesn't have to by rerolling 0 dice).

I assume that to be able to spend a target lock you do have to be attacking the ship you have target locked right? You can't "spend" a target lock to re-roll 0 dice if you are attacking a different ship then you have the TL on. Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
"Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life." ♯ ♩ ♫ ♪ - Beethoven
badge
--------ViSiT--------- ---------------------- DockingBay416.com ---------------------- ------for some------ ---------------------- -------STAR--------- -------WARS-------- --------------------- ------l-o-v-e--------
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edrazpgh wrote:
You can't "spend" a target lock to re-roll 0 dice if you are attacking a different ship then you have the TL on. Right?


Come, come, you know the answer to that question...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Raz
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
R2EQ wrote:
edrazpgh wrote:
You can't "spend" a target lock to re-roll 0 dice if you are attacking a different ship then you have the TL on. Right?


Come, come, you know the answer to that question...


Yep, but I don't know the answer to the first question.

Can you spend a target lock to re-roll 0 dice? It's never something I've considered doing until Hobbie was released.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jesse L
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yes, when attacking a ship you have a TL on you may spend it to reroll 0 dice, the rules say "any number" of dice.

Edit: this ruling can also be found on page 4 of the FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
"Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life." ♯ ♩ ♫ ♪ - Beethoven
badge
--------ViSiT--------- ---------------------- DockingBay416.com ---------------------- ------for some------ ---------------------- -------STAR--------- -------WARS-------- --------------------- ------l-o-v-e--------
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edrazpgh wrote:
Can you spend a target lock to re-roll 0 dice?


Yes just like Garven and Focus.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grish
Canada
Toronto
flag msg tools
"Music is the mediator between the spiritual and the sensual life." ♯ ♩ ♫ ♪ - Beethoven
badge
--------ViSiT--------- ---------------------- DockingBay416.com ---------------------- ------for some------ ---------------------- -------STAR--------- -------WARS-------- --------------------- ------l-o-v-e--------
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
edrazpgh wrote:
I assume that to be able to spend a target lock you do have to be attacking the ship you have target locked right?


Obviously, yes.

edrazpgh wrote:
You can't "spend" a target lock to re-roll 0 dice if you are attacking a different ship then you have the TL on. Right?


No. You can't spend a target lock on a ship that you haven't actually target locked.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antares CD
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
edrazpgh wrote:
Can you spend a target lock and re-roll 0 dice?

Assuming the ship you are attacking is the one you locked on to, yes. It's in the FAQ.

edrazpgh wrote:
I assume that to be able to spend a target lock you do have to be attacking the ship you have target locked right?

Correct. That's in the basic rules for target locks.

edrazpgh wrote:
You can't "spend" a target lock to re-roll 0 dice if you are attacking a different ship then you have the TL on. Right?

Correct, you must be attacking the ship you have a target lock on to spend the target lock. Again in the basic rules on target locks if you need reference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Raz
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
R2EQ wrote:
edrazpgh wrote:
I assume that to be able to spend a target lock you do have to be attacking the ship you have target locked right?


Obviously, yes.

edrazpgh wrote:
You can't "spend" a target lock to re-roll 0 dice if you are attacking a different ship then you have the TL on. Right?


No. You can't spend a target lock on a ship that you haven't actually target locked.


Thanks for clearing that up. Wanted to make sure there wasn't a loophole in there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.