Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Ley
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm new to BGG, so I'm not sure if this has been discussed, but how do you speed up a persons play without being rude.

I have one friend in my gaming group that suffers from analysis paralysis. We play Axis and Allies a lot, but even though he's played hundreds of times his turn easily takes 3 times as long as everyone else. Every time someone suggests that he just make a decision he gets mad that we are trying to rush him. I usually suggest he start thinking about his turn before it's actually his turn, but he is incapable thinking several phases ahead. i.e. he can only plan out his buy phase and not his movement phase in advance.

Any suggestions, besides not playing with him? I know it might be impossible, but thought I might get some suggestions.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My go to strategy: "Sorry, whose turn is it?"
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I'm new to BGG, so I'm not sure if this has been discussed, but how do you speed up a persons play without being rude

Yeah, the subject has been discussed as long as BGG has.

curtc wrote:

Those kind of hints can work, but there are some APers who will not take the hint or reform.

If he is the unreformable type, there's probably little you can do except stop playing with him anymore. Seems drastic, but if other gamers keep annoying you, often the only recourse is to stop gaming with them.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shelby Buttimer
United States
Lawrence
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We have one of those.

"It's Munchkin for pity's sake! You don't have to take five minutes to decide what to do! It won't matter, I promise!"

I bring my knitting and I knit between my turns. It helps my patience.